Which processer is least likely to freeze?

T

Tiffany

Guest
#1
Which processer is least likely to freeze & most able to recover after a crash

or forced shutdown? I had a Pentium 4, 1.8 that easily froze & would not

recover. I had Celerons that didn't easily freeze & they recovered far better

than the Pentium 4. They hardest thing I do is unzip files & defragment,

which seems to tire my PC out. I have a Celeron 2.1 now. It seems to freeze

temporarily on Firefox. Which processer should I get in the future. I have 2 -

256 MB Kingston memory sticks.

Thanks
 

falconguard

Carbon based lifeform
Political User
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
3,406
#2
This is not a processor issue. Maybe more of a page file usage. Are there a lot of programs on your system at startup?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7,027
#5
Intel CPU's are more reliable engineering wise. Always have been, however your problem is more likely a motherboard or RAM issue. CPU's rarely fail and if they do they usually fail in such a way you either get no power on or its intermittant on schedule :)
 

falconguard

Carbon based lifeform
Political User
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
3,406
#7
When is the computer freezing? are you running a particular program when it crashes? are there a lot of apps open when it crashes? are you getting any error messages?
 
T

Tiffany

Guest
#8
What do you mean recover? What do you mean crash/freeze?
Freeze means I click something & nothing moves.

Nothing happens. I click it again & the hourglass comes on. It still won't do

what I clicked it to do. I try to turn it off. It won't turn off. I get a box that

says 'SYSTEM IS NOT RESPONDING. END NOW OR CANCEL'. I click 'end now'.

Or I turn it off with Task manager. It asks me if I want to send an error

message to Microsoft.


After my Pentium 4 was turned off I could not get it to work again. That's

what I meant by 'It wouldm't recover'. I had to call tech support. I just got

that PC. When I had a celeron, It did start again.


By 'crash', I mean the application turns off without me turning it off or I do a

forced shutdown.


Thank you all for replying.
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,489
#10
Sounds like either Windows is having some driver issues, or the windows instalation is going bad. And the whole thing about what CPU's are more reliable is such a load of BS. Every CPU has excellent reliability. You wouldn't believe the sort of testing they do. It's probably the most reliable piece of hardware in a machine.

The only reason why someone would have freezing or lockups or slowness are: virus, spyware, hardware incompatibility, hardware failure, hardware searching, too many programs running, windows corruption.

Is your windows a fresh installation:

A lot of common slowdowns/lockups are related to CD/DVD drive failures actually. The system is checking for those drives, and keeps checking. But I'm not saying this is the case though. I don't know what your system is doing exactly and can't physically see it.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
#12
I beg to differ. If HDD is developing bad sectors it will create slowdowns and lockups or even restarts, at random. Including the random program crash/lockup. I have seen this first hand, twice. Actually, three times, once at work. It can get ugly. If she were to do a full surface scan of her HDD it would eliminate any thoughts of this. Or find bad sectors, and then there's the problem. Once that HDD starts to die and those bad sectors start to pile up, it's all down hill.


Then again if her drives are fragged to hell and back... A good defrag could perk everything right up. At work right now one of the drives is 55% fragmented and this is the one with the database program for all our auto repair and stuff. It was still defragging when I left to come home. 120GB worth.
 
Last edited:
T

Tiffany

Guest
#13
I ran a CHCK DSK [Check Disk] with the recovery console & the Windows XP

restore CD. It said there were errors on the volume. It said it fixed them. I

use Diskeeper Lite to defragment every day. It says my PC is slightly

fragmented.


I think when I change something, some thing else changes because my

processer is weak & small & my Windows becomes corrupted.


Thank you all for your replies.
 

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#14
I ran a CHCK DSK [Check Disk] with the recovery console & the Windows XP

restore CD. It said there were errors on the volume. It said it fixed them. I

use Diskeeper Lite to defragment every day. It says my PC is slightly

fragmented.


I think when I change something, some thing else changes because my

processer is weak & small & my Windows becomes corrupted.


Thank you all for your replies.
Like was already mentioned, it could be either your HDD, or your windows load needs repaired...

If I were you I would try repairing your install by rebooting with your windows CD in the drive, and let it start doing an install, then when it comes up and finds the existing windows partition and asks if you want to try and repair it answer yes, and see if that fixes your problem...

How long have you had this system?
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#15
at the risk of drifting way off topic I'd make a couple of observations:-

1. Your 512 memory from two sticks has become woefully small in modern times - take on board all the previous advice and on top of that, since you were clearly considering processor/machine upgarde when you posted, consider buying at least one 1GB stick, maybe two depending on future plans and/or available slots.

2. If you seriously asked that question because you want to move along, CPU wise then there's little doubt the current WTG would be the Intel Duo. I hope that is not AMD fanboy bait :p

If you want advice one going that way I suggest a fresh thread - this one is headng down the fixing your system road. Also those two choices are connected, because you could incorporate memory in future systems (whereas the 256 sticks are a little small).
 
T

Tiffany

Guest
#16
My PC is 3 years + 8 months old. I don't remember when I did my last install.

When I try to do a repair, it asks for some type of validation.

Thanks for replying.
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#17
yeah - you need your windows install validated - follow the instructions, should be no problems if legit... if the install is as old as the PC, mor eor less, this should be a good healthy thing to do, that is getting long in the tooth for a windoes install, you'll feel better for it after (I only have one rig running as old as that due to a slowly dying HD, and it has its sluggish moments for sure).
 

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#18
My PC is 3 years + 8 months old. I don't remember when I did my last install.

When I try to do a repair, it asks for some type of validation.

Thanks for replying.
Did you validate it?

Did it say it wasnt valid?

If so, like I have had to do, call Microsoft, and if you have changed anything in the PC simply tell them it is in the same box with different hardware, and tell them that is the only PC you have...

Write back and tell us what has happened...

Also, like MFG said your memory should be bumped to 512 min... I cant believe I missed that previously...

Reps + MFG!
 
T

Tiffany

Guest
#19
Did you validate it?
I don't know how to

validate it. It said it wanted a # from somewhere. I did many fresh installs. I

couldn't find the # they wanted. Windows came with my PC.

Also, like MFG said your memory should be bumped to 512 min...
My memory is 512. I wrote that it's 2 - 256 kingston memory sticks.

Thank you all for replying.
 

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#20
I don't know how to

validate it. It said it wanted a # from somewhere. I did many fresh installs. I

couldn't find the # they wanted. Windows came with my PC.

My memory is 512. I wrote that it's 2 - 256 kingston memory sticks.

Thank you all for replying.
OOPS.. I guess I misread that... anyway... the product number they are looking for should have come on the sleeve for the install...

OR there should be a repair disk... who is the PC manufactered from?

HP, Dell, G-way.. other?

Model #?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,028
Messages
673,537
Members
89,038
Latest member
Samhicks