which Linux distro

CHiLLaXen

hypnotika
ok, I had my hard drive RMAed few days ago cause it died. I'm thinking about installing 2 OSes. Win XP and a linux distro. Last time I tried installing linux, someone said to try out Debian. Well it was hard work installing it and getting to run propery. Is there a easier distro to work with? I'm new to linux and Debian was kinda hard to install.

easy eh? ... I would say main three "easy" distro's would be redhat, suse, mandrake.

Debian is easy o_0

But if you want something that can be set-up easily, then Mandrake or RedHat are the way to go. The only way to find out is to try them yourself though, as everyone has a different opinion on which is the best or easiest.

Mandrake: http://www.mandrakelinux.com/
RedHat: http://redhat.com

There is Fedora too, but it's fairly new, and I can't vouch for it's ease, yet some people are liking it a lot it seems: http://fedora.redhat.com/

I just got Fedora CDs with a Linux Format mag which I might try out, but I have never been a fan of RH so I might be a bit bias

i currently use gentoo on my other machine. although it is one of the harder ones to install i find it easier to use....but maybe thats just me.

I used Fedora a while back. It's basically identical to Redhat, but it was a little too buggy at the time. The Fedora Core 1 may have fixed some (or most) of that.

I'll have to say Redhat, but thats the only one I have tryed.

Geffy said:
its easy you just have to know what you are doing :p
and if someone is looking into RH and MD, FreeBSD ain't exactly going to be friendly. Even when you do know what you're doing it's a complete **** :p