Whats svchost..and why is it hungry for memory?

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
Im running vista x64 and it seems to be eating a lot of memory..any ideas?
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
I don't know, but have always wondered.

I have about an average of 5 to 15 of them running, and some are doing over 15,000KB
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
weird, the total of all of mine running is over 300mb of ram..im just curious what they all are!
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
type services.msc in the search box on the start bar

See all those listed as automatic and manual? They're all running in those svchost entries :)

Best part of windows is called svchost :)
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,387
type services.msc in the search box on the start bar

See all those listed as automatic and manual? They're all running in those svchost entries :)

Best part of windows is called svchost :)
good post

svchost= services host
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
For more information on which SVCHOST is "hosting" which services, run cmd and type:

Services listing: Tasklist /SVC
Get more info: Tasklist /FI "PID eq IDNUMBER"
 

Mizzle

Oh, now I know...!
Joined
3 May 2008
Messages
347
You can also just right click on the svchost processes in task manager, and select "Go to services", which will select all the services related to that certain process :)
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
I'll have to install vista again and try that out :)

*makes mental note to stop with this OS changing itch every 5 seconds*
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,085
You can also just right click on the svchost processes in task manager, and select "Go to services", which will select all the services related to that certain process :)


Believe this only works in Vista.. XP you are using the command line/tasklist method.

Granted, the original Post mentioned he was running Vista and this will indeed work in Vista. But tasklist will work in most windows 2000 OS and above.
 

Mizzle

Oh, now I know...!
Joined
3 May 2008
Messages
347
Oh yes, it's only in Vista. Sorry, forgot to mention that :) Anyway, thread starter (failurbydesign) is running Vista, so it should work :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Also Hi EP and people. I found this place again while looking through a oooollllllldddd backup. I have filled over 10TB and was looking at my collection of antiques. Any bids on the 500Mhz Win 95 fix?
Any of the SP crew still out there?
Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.

Forum statistics

Threads
62,011
Messages
673,478
Members
5,607
Latest member
rohitprabhakar