Whats svchost..and why is it hungry for memory?

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
Im running vista x64 and it seems to be eating a lot of memory..any ideas?
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
I don't know, but have always wondered.

I have about an average of 5 to 15 of them running, and some are doing over 15,000KB
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
weird, the total of all of mine running is over 300mb of ram..im just curious what they all are!
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
type services.msc in the search box on the start bar

See all those listed as automatic and manual? They're all running in those svchost entries :)

Best part of windows is called svchost :)
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,374
type services.msc in the search box on the start bar

See all those listed as automatic and manual? They're all running in those svchost entries :)

Best part of windows is called svchost :)
good post

svchost= services host
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
For more information on which SVCHOST is "hosting" which services, run cmd and type:

Services listing: Tasklist /SVC
Get more info: Tasklist /FI "PID eq IDNUMBER"
 

Mizzle

Oh, now I know...!
Joined
3 May 2008
Messages
347
You can also just right click on the svchost processes in task manager, and select "Go to services", which will select all the services related to that certain process :)
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
I'll have to install vista again and try that out :)

*makes mental note to stop with this OS changing itch every 5 seconds*
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
You can also just right click on the svchost processes in task manager, and select "Go to services", which will select all the services related to that certain process :)


Believe this only works in Vista.. XP you are using the command line/tasklist method.

Granted, the original Post mentioned he was running Vista and this will indeed work in Vista. But tasklist will work in most windows 2000 OS and above.
 

Mizzle

Oh, now I know...!
Joined
3 May 2008
Messages
347
Oh yes, it's only in Vista. Sorry, forgot to mention that :) Anyway, thread starter (failurbydesign) is running Vista, so it should work :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR