What should I do now ??

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Messages
355
Was kinda bored and went into the bios when I start the PC.

Saw this option, allocate IRQ for VGA .. default was like no, so I switched it to yes .. now when the PC starts, the picture gets super distorted.

Tried resetting the bios by pulling out the battery and the power cable but still no resolution.

Any idea please?
 

Tittles

Dabba Dooba
Political Access
Joined
29 Jul 2002
Messages
6,344
couldnt u just go back and switch it back to no
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
29 Aug 2002
Messages
3,763
yeah - I cannot belive a CMOS reset did not fix that, so maybe it did not work (there can be latent capacitance in the mobo that has to be shorted out to effect a proper CMOS reset, so removing the battery may not be enough alone - unless you leave it out a LOOooong time).

Another possible way would be to look for latest BIOS and flash it - so long as you can read screen to do that happily. Never any harm in having the most up to date BIOS :)
 

FishBoy

Feeeesh
Joined
1 Aug 2004
Messages
1,685
you need to remove the batter and cable for at least 10seconds, you set you graphics card to function on interrupt request so it's gonna have to take permition from the computer to show you screen that's like a stupid thing to do and you can't flash the bios because you cant see what's on the screen, you can contact the mobo manufacturer ask them what to do, but before try removing the batter and cable for at least 10 seconds again, if you cant see anything still but you hear a beep from the computer that means that the bios is not setup so press F2 to load default settings might work
 

American Zombie

Moderator
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
23 Jun 2004
Messages
2,956
dreamworks said:
allocate IRQ for VGA .. default was like no
When enabled, an IRQ is assigned to the graphics card.

When disabled, the graphics card will not be assigned an IRQ.

While there are some exceptions, most graphics cards require an IRQ to work properly so I can not see why setting to YES would mess anything up or why it had been set to NO in the first place.
 

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Messages
355
I have no idea .. that was what I thought so to be. The display is fine before this, but just because I changed the setting in the BIOS, now the display is totally screwed!! : )

I'll try to do the F2 thingy as you suggested FishBoy. Thanks.
 

FishBoy

Feeeesh
Joined
1 Aug 2004
Messages
1,685
well i get the F2 on my mobo (asus) after i remove the batter and power cable maybe it's the same on yours. but i dont think the computer usually boots if the vga fails but i dont think it has failed in your situation the settings have been played with
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
most cards dont actually need and IRQ as this hinders their operation.

All an IRQ is is a measn for the hardware to interrupt the current cpu task to ask for something. However with AGP and now PCI-Express, most video cards can communicate with the DMA controller direct and fetch the data needed once the cpu sends address space to them.

Leave the IRQ assignto VGA disabled and dont turn it on. ever. for any reason. period.
 

FishBoy

Feeeesh
Joined
1 Aug 2004
Messages
1,685
LordOfLA said:
most cards dont actually need and IRQ as this hinders their operation.

All an IRQ is is a measn for the hardware to interrupt the current cpu task to ask for something. However with AGP and now PCI-Express, most video cards can communicate with the DMA controller direct and fetch the data needed once the cpu sends address space to them.

Leave the IRQ assignto VGA disabled and dont turn it on. ever. for any reason. period.
and some graphics card have their own processing unit (graphic processing unit (GPU))
 

Zedric

NTFS Guru
Joined
12 Jan 2002
Messages
4,006
FishBoy said:
and some graphics card have their own processing unit (graphic processing unit (GPU))
They all do. And so? They still need to talk to the rest of the computer.

Besides, afaik, the GPU isn't really a processor as such, not like a CPU. It's more like a big a$$ programmable filter in the sense that it can't run programs. Afaik.
 

FishBoy

Feeeesh
Joined
1 Aug 2004
Messages
1,685
if it processes data then it's a processor, the graphics card processes data to produce better quality graphics without having to take out computer processor resources and time
 

Zedric

NTFS Guru
Joined
12 Jan 2002
Messages
4,006
FishBoy said:
if it processes data then it's a processor, the graphics card processes data to produce better quality graphics without having to take out computer processor resources and time
Then you could call anything a processor. You can make an FPGA do a simulation of "life" (you know the pixel pattern thingy) (and I have), which would count as producing graphics, but that still doesn't make it a processor. So no, just because a chip processes data doesn't make it a processor in the technical sense of the word.

At least that's what we've been told in all our computer technology course here at the university. ;)


I think we're way off topic here btw. I don't see how turning the IRQ assignment would screw up the display... You didn't change anything else? Drivers?
 

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Messages
355
Indeed .. it turns out to be the graphic card faulty.

Somehow it happened just after I changed the setting on the bios. Sigh .. Thanks a lot for your help guys.
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
29 Aug 2002
Messages
3,763
HMMMmmm any chance your change caused the fault? Like overheated it? :eek:
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
nah, software cant damage hardware :) even you should know that :D

and yes Iknow this is an old thread I jsut remembered it was here when checking on my reputation points that I seem to have a quried mroe of :D
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,991
Messages
673,365
Members
5,585
Latest member
LucyHennessy

Affiliated sites