Web server question continued...

AcftMecH

OSNN Addict
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
99
#1
I have a web server that works for outside users when I assign it to port 90 but not to the default port 80. I thought it may have been my router stopping it from working, but I took the router out of the picture and had my cable modem hooked up to the pc server and it still didnt work for outside computers. I looked in the windows services to see if there would be anything there that may be stopping it, but didnt see anything to obvious. I am not using winXP firewall, or any other firewall for that matter except the router. Even if I disable the router firewall, I have same problem.

Any suggestions on why it would not work on the default port 80 like it should?

Thanks!

AcftMecH!
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
#2
perhaps your ISP is blocking it...

i'm sure that in the AUP it says you can't run a web server (although many do anyway) :)
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
#3
Like cpu said,

It is not you, but 99% your ISP. If you are not paying for a monthly hosting account, your port 80 will be closed off.

Heeter
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#4
One reason DSL is better than cable, they are usually more lax in their rules. Some cable co's will not even let you use a router.
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#5
j79zlr said:
One reason DSL is better than cable, they are usually more lax in their rules. Some cable co's will not even let you use a router.
true, a firend couldnt use a router with her ISP, she called them and they fixed it. As to the port, your prob right, the ISP is blockin it. My ISP doesnt (thanks god!!)!
 

albybum

Penguin Rancher
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
280
#6
yea most cable companies prohibit incoming requests on port 80 to keep users from running webservers. lowers their demand for bandwidth and keeps a limited few from sucking up the entire local bandwidth in a shared region because they run a webserver. Odds are you would have to get a business account from your cable company and pay a crap load more to get a routed connection for your port 80.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
#7
That's funny,

Around here, it is the ADSL company the blocks Port80 and any relaying, so any Mailservers are out of the question as well. The Cable ISP might run a port scanner once in a while, if they have had complaints about spamming originating from their servers.

Heeter
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,029
Messages
673,540
Members
89,039
Latest member
janiceboyd