Voodoo2

D

dmbss

Guest
My Voodoo2 card is being recognized under XP but I'm unable to force the OS to recognize it as the default display adapter. It wont even list under display adapters, only under gaming & sound controllers.

Would anybody have any ideas? I'm trying to load all of PlusXP.

Thanks
DmBss:confused:
 

Lonman

Bleh!
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
2,642
I'm not sure i understand your issue. Do you have another video adapter besides your Voodoo?
 
D

dmbss

Guest
Yes, sorry I have an onboard adapter thats built into the Intel motherboard. Thats the adapter thats being picked up as the default.

DmBss
 

Lonman

Bleh!
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
2,642
If you're not using the onboard adapter, go into your bios and disable it.
 
B

boxman

Guest
Along with the disabling the onboard video in the BIOS, there may also be a jumper you have to change.
 

Bytes Back

Ex Police Chief
Joined
20 Jun 2004
Messages
1,383
Hey, what am I missing something !!

The Voodoo is a 3d accelerator only.NOT a display adapter. Windows is correct
 
D

dmbss

Guest
Bytes back is correct, the VooDoo2 card is nothing but a accelerator, it works off a signal from another "true" display adapter and then you plug your monitor into the VooDoo. In past operating systems (95,98,2k) all I needed to do was load the drivers, it was very PnP friendly. I remeber under Win2k that the VooDoo card was listed under display adapters in Device Manager. Well the drivers loaded in fine and there is even the same 3DFX tab under display properties - advanced. I'm at a loss.

Thanks in advance for any help.

DmBss:cool:
 

Bytes Back

Ex Police Chief
Joined
20 Jun 2004
Messages
1,383
I'm still confused to exactly what your problem is (I'm paticulary thick today)

Under 98,me etc it appeared in sound/video etc when I had one

2000 I can't comment on.

You say it has installed ok with the advanced tab, does the thing work or not, are you saying that under the 3d option in games you don't get it or it's merely listed last ???

Help me, my brain hurts :D
 
D

dmbss

Guest
It looks from what I can tell that the driver loaded correctly, hence the advanced tab under display properties, but I do not have the screen resolution options I normally had in the past (98,2k) and the only game I have to test with (Need 4 Speed 4) does not perform the way it should, I have not tested any other games. Also, Plus wont install completly becouse I'm lacking in the graphics area.

Thanks,
DmBss
 

Bytes Back

Ex Police Chief
Joined
20 Jun 2004
Messages
1,383
Yes, but the screen resolution options come from the video card not the 3d card, they also depend on what monitor windows thinks you have

Now, need4speed 4 has a 3d setup option which you can run seperatly from the game what appears in the choices ?

I think Plus won't install is beacause if you a video card built in to your motherboard then it is assigned memory by the BIOS. For instance it may be assigned 2MB whereas Plus may require 4MB
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,005
Messages
673,461
Members
5,599
Latest member
Larry Chris