VNC problem

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
first is that i can't get VNC to work anymore since i bought a new router. I get the error "the connection closed unexpectedly". the new router is a D-Link DIR-655 with the latest firmware (11/08). it worked fine with my old simple dlink router without any port forwarding or anything special. things i have done:
  • client and host are same version (4.1.2)
  • made sure winvnc4.exe is on the host's windows firewall exceptions list
  • added port 5900 TCP and UDP to the same list
  • tried forwarding the same ports with the router
  • reinstalled VNC on both client and host
  • installed it on a third comp
i'm out of ideas. any tips?
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
if windows check the firewall, if its on sometimes it will block it, if linux check our iptables
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
check windows firewall hasn't turned itself on or if its supposed to be running make sure it has deleted the rule, happened to me once or twice
 

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
like i said in the original post, i checked windows firewall.
 

w0lv3rin3

The Source
Political Access
Joined
18 Mar 2004
Messages
465
VNC Server's security is not properly configured?

Check to see if you have selected a proper authentication method.

Also, check out ur Application Event Log.

VNC Server will log information under the tag "WinVNC4" when running as a service. Log entries starting "Connections: closed" will include a brief description of the reason for the connection closing.

Make sure you connect to the correct computer, which I am sure you are doing!

Also, if you wanna try, try enabling DMZ mode. if you can login with DMZ-enabled, then most likely you have a port forwarding issue, I highy dout if your connecting VIA lan
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
15 Sep 2003
Messages
1,489
This is why I really like Logmein.

All I can think of is that your router has some extra feature. Any way you can screenshot your router settings and post them here so we can see the pages and settings on those pages?
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
15 Sep 2003
Messages
1,489
I've used RealVNC, and TightVNC and have not had any problems like this, but I now use Logmein and I like it. No port configuration or anything.
 

w0lv3rin3

The Source
Political Access
Joined
18 Mar 2004
Messages
465
Is Logmein cross-platform? If so, what Operating System does this software support?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,999
Messages
673,424
Members
5,592
Latest member
Rhilani