Virtual PC 2007 RTM now available

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
Virtual PC 2007 is a powerful software virtualization solution that allows you to run multiple PC-based operating systems simultaneously on one workstation, providing a safety net to maintain compatibility with legacy applications while you migrate to a new operating system. It also saves reconfiguration time, so your support, development, and training staff can work more efficiently.

Virtual PC 2007 runs on: Windows XP Professional, Windows XP Tablet PC, Windows Server 2003, Windows Vista Business, Windows Vista Enterprise, and Windows Vista Ultimate.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
I guess it is safe to assume that you do not need to uninstall the RC.

You must uninstall previous releases (Beta 2 or Release Canidate) prior to installing the RTM.
 
Last edited:

dubstar

format c:
Joined
3 Dec 2002
Messages
1,357
sorry to be such a noob, but besides compatibility, is there any reason to play with Virtual PC? I got a copy from my school, but I have no idea where to use it, or why to use it. Any good informative website suggestions?
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
I use Virtual PC as a virtual lab to test software (without installing it on my production box), stay current with XP (now that I am using Vista full time), and to try out new server software.
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
22 Oct 2006
Messages
1,240
anyone knows why is vista home premium not supported?
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
Because VPC is considered a business product. VPC was never supported for XP Home.
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
That's an even better reason.
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
anyone knows why is vista home premium not supported?
Because virtualization in general is not allowed in the Home/Home Premium license. Technically, i think the EULA license refers to running Home or Home Premium as a guest in a virtual machine.. not 100% sure why they would also not allow Home/Home Premium to RUN virtualization software..

I think in their "infinite" wisdom, they probably believe that a "home" user would have no need to run a virtual machine. And if you have a need for a "virtual" machine, you are really running a business and should therefor get a "business" edition of the OS.

What it all really comes down to is microsoft trying to get as much money as they can.. gotta love M$. :)
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
anyone knows why is vista home premium not supported?
I've read that it still installs and works fine, but that it just isn't officially supported. It might be misinformation, but you might want to try installing it and see what happens.
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
it will run fine.. it just won't be supported.

Same thing in that you can install vista home into virtual hardware fine.. it just won't be supported (and you are then violating the license agreement). I don't think there is the same license stipulation in running VirtualPC on Vista Home however.. only if you want to run Vista Home within a virtualPC.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,680
hardwre virtualisation is just an intel thing?
Box is greyed out on my FX.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,680
Yeah, FX-57 is quite old and Vista keeps telling me I need to upgrade it.
Trying to hang on for Quadfather :D

I am still a single core user :p
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
Yeah, FX-57 is quite old and Vista keeps telling me I need to upgrade it.
Trying to hang on for Quadfather :D

I am still a single core user :p
Well, my dual-core Opteron doesn't include it either. The Core Duo in my Tablet seems to though, although I haven't tried running VPC on that yet.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,680
Prob won't try it on my laptop, although its quite happily running motion desktop, unlike my desktop!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR