Video Capture

BouncingSoul

Stranger Than Fiction
Political Access
Joined
30 Jan 2004
Messages
1,303
I've already got a nice new video card, but I purchased it thinking I would need it for gaming only and neglected to get any other cool features. Now however I want to save some TV shows (Soprano's, 24, ATHF) but I don't know what I need to do this. I'm not looking to make DVD's, I just want a nice TV rip of the program, I want it to be close to the same frame rate (I have no idea what that is in the US .. or anywhere else for that matter) and I want to be able to edit out any commercials that I find. What kind of device will I need for this and how much am I looking at spending?

Thanks in advance.
 

falconguard

Carbon based lifeform
Political Access
Joined
11 Feb 2004
Messages
3,406
You'll need a TVcapture card, most come bundled with the software to rip onto the harddrive. WinTV, Hauppage are among the cards you will be looking for.
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political Access
Joined
27 Dec 2001
Messages
7,626
I have the ATI TV Pro. It's a good solution that is inexpensive. It's not the best TV capture card available, but it gets the job done and I'm satisifed with what it has to offer.
 

BouncingSoul

Stranger Than Fiction
Political Access
Joined
30 Jan 2004
Messages
1,303
Ok, I'm looking at the ATI now. My only question now is will it capture from my cable box ... cause all the cards kinda make it sound like it connects from the card directly to the cable outlet.
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political Access
Joined
27 Dec 2001
Messages
7,626
I'm sure that it will connect through the cable box. However, since the software acts as a tuner itself, I'm not sure that you'll need to use the cable box... unless it's a digital box.
 

BouncingSoul

Stranger Than Fiction
Political Access
Joined
30 Jan 2004
Messages
1,303
It is digital ... I hate it. Next time I'm going with Directv or Dish Network!
 

falconguard

Carbon based lifeform
Political Access
Joined
11 Feb 2004
Messages
3,406
nonsense, just buy a splitter from radio shack and run the feed from the output source of your box to your computer. Although you might be able to get the unalderated feed from the incoming line by looking up ...I dont know Google?! ;)
 

DJ-phYre

To whom it may concern
Joined
22 Jun 2002
Messages
135
muzikool said:
I have the ATI TV Pro. It's a good solution that is inexpensive. It's not the best TV capture card available, but it gets the job done and I'm satisifed with what it has to offer.
You say that the ATI TV Wonder Pro is not the best TV Tuner... Can you provide some info on which are? I am doing the same. I have a computer that I use for gaming that I want to also make a HTPC. So I would like to know the best!
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
I've used a winfast, ati and avermedia card in the last 9 months and was not pleased with the stored image quality of any of them. It was fine for TV viewing but play back was too grainy looking. I tried using the lowest loss compression options and was still disappointed.

Unless you go for a $$$ card I'm not sure you'll be happy with the results. And then stored image size may be a problem.

Let us know if you find something you like.
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political Access
Joined
27 Dec 2001
Messages
7,626
Like most things, higher price equals higher quality. And also like most things, you can always get something better/more expensive. The question is what your standard of quality is, and what your budget is. The ATI card that I have is less expensive, but I am satisfied with it's performance and so it is a good solution for me.
 

NerdUprising

[ Method ]
Joined
23 May 2003
Messages
736
muzikool said:
Like most things, higher price equals higher quality. And also like most things, you can always get something better/more expensive. The question is what your standard of quality is, and what your budget is. The ATI card that I have is less expensive, but I am satisfied with it's performance and so it is a good solution for me.

Agreed, you can get pretty beefy video quality for recordings, and the card itself is pretty robust - if you have a video card with semi-decent capabilities, you wont even notice the cpu usage of the tuner.
 

DJ-phYre

To whom it may concern
Joined
22 Jun 2002
Messages
135
OK... I have pretty much decided on buying a ATI TV Wonder Pro. As far as I can tell, it is the best card that ATI has to offer (Unless the TV Wonder VE is better ???). Anyways I was thinking about just getting the remote with it. I am eventually going to be using Snapstream's Beyond TV 3 Software. Should I just hold off on the remote and get Snapstreams FireFly remote... or will the ATI Remote work with the software perfectly also?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,589
Latest member
glen