Very new to PHP Script

Alex_is_Axel

.:: FTPAlex ::.
Goodmorning everyone,

I am very new to PHP scripting and i am wanting to have a messageboard on my website. I was just wondering if i need to install anything onto my website to make php work? do i need to install anything on my computer to set up php? what do i really need to make php work?

when i open php scripts on my computer on IE, text comes up of the code of the php script. I have Dreamweaver MX and when i put PHP script on the program, nothing displays on the display area from the script. Is this right? what have i/am i doing/done something wrong?

Thank you for your help and time

Sincerly Alex :(

PHP is a server side scripting language, therefore you need a webserver (Apache, IIW, PWS) and the actual PHP program itself, which is available from http://www.php.net

If you want to setup PHP on windows, there is a guide that I wrote in the networking section.

Just to avoid confusion:
"and the actual PHP program itself,"

:)

heh, oops :D
*edits post*

And just for reference, my guide is here

im sorry to be anoying.. but what download of php do i need to download? i went searching and there were loadz of different downloads .. kinda confussed me :(

Thank you for your help

Sincerly Alex

where exactly are you trying to install it to?

If its a windows machine, get the windows version, if its linux get the linux version..etc..

thank you for your help, ill let you know how i get along :happy:

Thank you Speedy_B and Zedric :D

:cool:

Save time and sweat

You can try to install all this or you can have a freeware do it for you:
Try EasyPHP: Here
The soft is in English but you will have part of the site in French.
Here you will find the downloads. Good luck

Thank you Niall, Ill give that a try when i next have any real spare time on my hands for me to set up a server etc.

By the way, :cool:Welcome to NTFS.org:cool:

Thanks !