Ut Oh

Tittles

Dabba Dooba
Political User
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
6,344
#1
ummm...yeah i did the change start button thing and like i had it all goin but i wanted to change the icon and like i did somethin wrong and explorer wont come back. When i try to start it under porcesses it says not win-32 complaint or w/e. What do i do?
 

Tittles

Dabba Dooba
Political User
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
6,344
#3
o duh...i didnt think of that cause the start menu wasnt there so i didnt even think of look for it :S. I will try that and see if it works
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#5
could try sfc /scannow from cmd line .. should check explorer and replace it I would think if there is a problem w/ it.
 

Tittles

Dabba Dooba
Political User
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
6,344
#6
ummm...yeah...it asks for the xp cd...and its not the same cd i used to install xp. I kinda scratched the xp cd up so much that it would work nomore :S. So i my dads gf made me a copy of her but i have never installed windows with the cd she made...so does this mean i prob gotta reinstall windows again?
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#7
shouldn't matter as long as its same XP version as you have ... doesn't check codes or anything ... just files :)
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#9
does it ask for XP or SP1 disc? sometimes it wants a SP1 disc in which case you need to make one. :(
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#13
Could be the Gran's CD has SP1 on it.

Or you could have the XP Corp Verison on the machine.

Or you could have XP Pro and Gran had XP Corp.

Or one could be XP Home.

Plan A -
Try it with your original XP CD. You may get lucky and the scartches won't be in a critical data area.

Plan B -
Figure out what is really on your comp and find someone with the same CD version and have them bring it over to try the repair.


Plan C -
Make backups of everything. CD blanks are only 10 cents in bulk.
 

Tittles

Dabba Dooba
Political User
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
6,344
#14
i unno where u got grans from? and i know for sure that it dont have sp1 on it...and i know its pro cause it says pro on the cd. Also i dont have my cd anymore since it wouldnt even read it :S
 
L

Lee

Guest
#17
TittleBitties said:
i unno where u got grans from? and i know for sure that it dont have sp1 on it...and i know its pro cause it says pro on the cd. Also i dont have my cd anymore since it wouldnt even read it :S
Just give the local microsoft distributor in your country the closest one a call.
Explain your cd got rubbished, say the dog ate it or something if you must now listen don't take NO for an answer ask them to replace the CD, cost about £10 + P&P.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,427
Members
89,025
Latest member
Haniew