USB 2 Maximum Cable Length

zazal

OSNN One Post Wonder
Joined
19 Nov 2007
Messages
1
My backup device is a USB 2.0 250 MB Iomega Hard Drive.I'd like to put
it in my garage, requiring about 20 to 25 feet of wire. The official
USB specs say 5 meters max; if further use a hub/repeater.

I'm wondering how realistic the 5 meter spec is. I recall that parallel
printer cables were supposed to be limited to 10 feet or so; 75 foot
cables worked just fine. Same thing with the specs for RS-232 cables.

Does anyone have any real world experience with long USB 2.0 cables?
I'm thinking of building mine using unshielded CAT5 cable, one twisted
pair for power, another for data. Wise? foolish?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
personally, I wouldn't do it. As it's your backup device, would you want to risk data loss and/or data corruption caused by signal degradation onto a backup device?

A printer is one thing to try to stretch the distance limit.. a Hard drive and backup data is entirely different.

Go buy a USB hub, put it somewhere in between and get two 5m cables.

http://www.usb.org/developers/usbfaq/#cab1
1. Why are there cable length limits, and what are they?
A: The cable length was limited by a cable delay spec of 26ns to allow for reflections to settle at the transmitter before the next bit was sent. Since USB uses source termination and voltage-mode drivers, this has to be the case, otherwise reflections can pile up and blow the driver. This does not mean the line voltage has fully settled by the end of the bit; with worst-case undertermination. However, there's been enough damping by the end of the bit that the reflection amplitude has been reduced to manageable levels. The low speed cable length was limited to 18ns to keep transmission line effects from impacting low speed signals.

2. I want to build a cable longer than 5 meters, why won't this work?
A: Even if you violated the spec, it literally wouldn't get you very far. Assuming worst-case delay times, a full speed device at the bottom of 5 hubs and cables has a timeout margin of 280ps. Reducing this margin to 0ps would only give you an extra 5cm, which is hardly worth the trouble.
 

zeke_mo

(value not set)
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
25 Aug 2004
Messages
1,991
My backup device is a USB 2.0 250 MB Iomega Hard Drive.I'd like to put
it in my garage, requiring about 20 to 25 feet of wire. The official
USB specs say 5 meters max; if further use a hub/repeater.

I'm wondering how realistic the 5 meter spec is. I recall that parallel
printer cables were supposed to be limited to 10 feet or so; 75 foot
cables worked just fine. Same thing with the specs for RS-232 cables.

Does anyone have any real world experience with long USB 2.0 cables?
I'm thinking of building mine using unshielded CAT5 cable, one twisted
pair for power, another for data. Wise? foolish?

250MB? Might be time to upgrade
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
Don't push the limit when it comes to cable length specs. These are set so you don't get data corruption. It's better to use a hub/repeater and be totally safe especially if you data is important.

Now my curiosity is getting the better of me. Why do you want to put the backup drive in your garage so far away? External drives are small and take up little room/space. Why not have it close by?
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2002
Messages
4,199
Just add another hard drive to the machine they cost nothing now.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
is it a temperature thing??? do you want the hard drive to stay cool?

either way when it's data or even sensitive data the shorter the cable the better.

Also if you've just purchased the backup drive see if you can buy an external hard drive with networking instead, (NAS)
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
You don't put computer equipment in a garage, regardless of cable length. Heat, cold, humidity, dust, roaches, ants and other vermin crawling around inside of it will trash the device.
 

X-Istence

*
Political Access
Joined
5 Dec 2001
Messages
6,498
You don't put computer equipment in a garage, regardless of cable length. Heat, cold, humidity, dust, roaches, ants and other vermin crawling around inside of it will trash the device.

I absolutely agree. I used to have a machine I kept downstairs in the basement, and when I finally had to move it with me to Arizona, I took the case apart after it having been online for a good year and a half and it was FILLED with dust. I was surprised the fans even kept moving in that thing (good thing they did :p).

Took a good hour to vacuum it out, and get all the dust out of the heatsink.
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2002
Messages
4,199
Another one post wonder who will not come back to thank us?

:laugh::laugh::laugh:
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hmmm,

I have a printer on a custom made 50 foot USB cable. It's no HD, but I haven't had any problems with it. Maybe printers are easier on data transfer than Hd's.


Heeter
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,591
Latest member
nodee