Upgrade or wait?

Kr0m

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
1,390
I'm wondering if there's anyone on here with similar system specs that has made the jump from XP to Vista. I know my system will run it but is it worth the upgrade or should I wait til after a service pack or until I upgrad motherboard/cpu etc.. (Also, has anyone had any difficulties with drivers for similar hardware)

Here's my current specs:
CPU Type: Intel Pentium 4, 2533 MHz (19 x 133)
Motherboard: Asus P4P800S-X (4 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset: Intel Breeds Hill i848P
System Memory: 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
Video Adapter: Radeon X1650 Series (512 MB) (AGP 8x)
Monitor: LG L194WTX(Digital)
Audio Adapter: Creative SB Live! Player 1024 Sound Card
Headset: Plantronics DSP 400 (USB)
Disk Drive: WDC WD2000JB-00KFA0 (186 GB, IDE)
Mouse: Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
I think your biggest problem is going to be memory. Although Vista will run fine with 1GB RAM I find that it performs best with 2GB or more.
 

ray_gillespie

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
1,693
I'd wait. The only reason I upgraded was that I got a good deal at the time. I would wait another 6 months or so to get the best OS performance. There are still quite a few bugs around that annoy me from time to time. Nothing too major, but annoying nonetheless.

As MM said, 1GB probably isn't enough either. 2GB is the way forward, though if you bought another GB for your existing system you would need to replace it when you upgrade as you'll be using DDR2 RAM in the future.
 

Kr0m

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
1,390
DOH.. while I've found temporary fixes on the net, it seems there's no 'Official' Vista support for my 8+ year old SB Live! Value sound card lol... crud.
I'm liking Vista Home Basic (Full) very much though. Everything but the sound card installed flawlessly and it runs pretty smooth.
Undecided yet as to whether or not I want to try the temp fix or just go buy a new card hehe (Probably just try the temp fix.. already bought a monitor and vid card this month).
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
2 Gig RAM a must have.
The 1650 Pro is probably adequate for Aero...
SB Live WILL NOT be supported for Vista. I have one and checked.
Printer, Camera, mouse and keyboard support is random. Check the vendor web sites.
I saw some issue with some Intel chipsets somewhere, forget details. Check Intel site.

There may never be support for some of your existing hardware.
 

Kr0m

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
1,390
GG me for not doing my homework... I got the Home 'Basic' version WITHOUT Aero. I see I can upgrade to premium easily enough but they only accept CC payments lol.
 

XeoNoX

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Dec 3, 2001
Messages
271
i got 1 gig ram and it seems to work fine for me on my 3500 amd.
 

Smoke286

Smokeater
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
314
I would wait, also as mentioned previously, you will have trouble with your soundcard
 

jonny813

OSNN Addict
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
88
Exactly if you have a problem with your soundcard then don't bother till it's sorted, though you could dual boot like myself, I'm waiting on a totally Vista complient iTunes then I'm off since I have no other problems with Vista. Well not totally true, did buy a new graphics card and PSU, but it was a GeForce4 MX4000 so I think I'm allowed off with that one lol.
BTW the 1650 card is perfect for Aero, I bought a 1550 and it runs beautifully though gets a score of 3.1 so the 1650 probably wont be much higher, if you really care about the score, or you intend to game,upgrade, otherwise its a waste.
 

American Zombie

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,953
DOH.. while I've found temporary fixes on the net, it seems there's no 'Official' Vista support for my 8+ year old SB Live! Value sound card lol... crud.
No need for those fixes IMO. All I did was go into device manager and manually updated the drivers by pointing the update drivers wizard to the SB live CD.
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,490
I would definitely agree with upgrading the ram with another gig. BUT I would also advise looking for an inexpensive P4 with HyperThreading (HT). Your ram will work with one, and your performance would increase greatly.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
I have almost the same rig here as my test machine and vista ran terribly on it.

P4 2.53
ASUS P4PE
1GB PC3200
ATi X700
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
Actually I'm not too surprised its as big of a flop as its been. But the guy asked a question and I answered it.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,993
Messages
673,362
Members
89,035
Latest member
adreinrich