Unlocking and overclocking Athlon XP 3200

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
I would never buy a used CPU, that's my opinion.
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,489
Well, I've done it before and never had any problems. I've sold all of my CPU's to other people with no problems.
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
I'm not saying there would be any problems, just not something I'd do. It's technically the most important component, I like to know what the history of it is :D
 

Don_X

OSNN Newbie
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
2
Just fitted the final upgrade to my Asrock K7VT6 mb, viz an AMD 3200+ which I was hoping to clock to about 2.5g.

Dissapointment, you bet , the multiplier on the MB (set to13.5x) not working and the BIOS manual overclock not stable (blue screen @210mhz).

Guess I'll just have to settle for the improved FSB. had the old XP2600 chugging along @ 2.16 Ghz too through the BIOS OC.

Unless anyone here knows different, but I dont fancy chiselling out valleys and all on this chip.
 

Steevo

Spammer representing.
Political User
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,566
Loosen your memory timings. Or provide more voltage to your ram. Make sure to keep your AGP and PCI bus locked.
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,489
More power! Yup, increase your voltage, make sure your fan and heatsink is of decent quality.
 

zagnut

OSNN Newbie
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Messages
2


Stable and can run Super Pi all day at 40 degress.

Don't ask how I got 2800, it's not worth it.
 

zagnut

OSNN Newbie
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Messages
2
Here's some motivation for all the 3200+ oc'ers.



Stable and can run Super Pi all day at 40 degress.

Don't ask how I got 2800, it's not worth it.
 

NeilS

OSNN One Post Wonder
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1
I've been reading through this thread with interest. I think I may have accidentally unlocked my xp 3200!
I was refitting the heatsink when I dropped it onto the cpu, from a height of about 1 inch. After that the cpu would only run stable at 100 fsb and was recognised in BIOS and Sandra as an Athlon 1200. This was on a Gigabyte 7VT600P-RZ board, which only has a manual setting for 100 fsb, anything higher being auto detected. Am I right in thinking the multiplier should be 11x , not 12x ?
Anyway, I moved it to an ASRock K7S41 board, set the jumpers to 200 fsb, still no joy. But if I clock back to 180 in the bios it is recgnised as an xp 3000 and works fine. I can push it up to about 195 (about 2350 MHz) with no problem.
Am I mising something here or have I found a novel way of changing multipliers?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,976
Messages
673,274
Members
89,050
Latest member
lennerttt