Ubuntu 6.10 under Parallels Workstation

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
I have been searching all over for a tutorial, I can't find one.

I want to install Ubuntu 6.10 under Parallels Workstation in Vista.

I have never used this software before, I need help!

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
I posted this on the Ubuntu forums but that place is inpossible to get a answer. I have been waiting for one for 3 days, my message is now like 5 pages behind the front. So they can't help me.

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Personally, for virtualization, I'm a big VMWare proponent.. while their workstation version is more expensive (and technically doesn't run on Vista yet - although you can pull down a free copy of the Beta for version 6 which does run on Vista), I think it is more feature rich and more mature of a product.

All that being said, I don't know how much help I can give you since I only tested Parallels very briefly before going back to VMWare v6 Beta on my vista box.

What problems are you having?

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Basically I load the Install cd with parallels, and it hangs, dosen't do anything.

The only reason i am using parallels is because i want to be able to press like 2 buttons on the keyboard, and it does like some cool fullscreen switch around.

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
how much memory did you allocate to the virtual machine? If you allocated over 1 GB of RAM, try setting it something less (like 512MB or 768MB)

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
hrm.. my help may be limited then. Is it only a problem with the Ubuntu load? If you try to install an instance of say, Windows XP, are you able to get into the setup? If not, it may be more of an issue with Parallels than Ubuntu. Is there an option to force a boot from the CD? Have you tried using just an .iso image of the install disk instead of physical media?

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original