Trillian Users

  • Thread starter Tuffgong4
  • https://www.osnn.net/admin.php?templates/thread_view.1970/delete&_xfRedirect=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.osnn.net%2Fadmin.php%3Ftemplates%2Foutdated Start date

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
Don't know how many people here use Trillian, but I have used Gaim for a long time and the newest beta just won't work for me so I have had to go back to Trillian. Well my one biggest concern was that it felt like Trillian was bloated somehow.

I'm not sure how many people will want to do this for trillian, but since I never use the AV plugin (that usually makes my system startup hang) if you go into the Trillian directory, go into the user folder and find plugins.ini and change the av plugin setting in notepad from Enabled=1 to Enabled=0 the av plugin never starts and makes Trillian startup a lot quicker.

Hope this helps someone.
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
My contents of plugins.ini -

[av.dll]
company=Cerulean Studios
description=This plugin implements A/V support for Trillian.
name=A/V Engine
version=1.0
guid={66369254-9619-4cc8-8F34-07CFBBBD720D}
md5=d01044af1c63ff018ecaa0ee7463c743
noload=0
picture=C:\Program Files\Trillian\plugins\image_cache\plugin-av.dll.png

Looks as if "noload=0" may already do the trick? No string of enabled in my file at all...
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
He listed above to have Enabled=0 to have the A/V plugin turned off, so by that logic it should be noload=0 which already have, but have never touched or tweaked that setting before.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,683
noload=0 would be not noloading tho? or loading? :eek:
Or am I just having fun with double negatives, will check my setting when I get home ;D
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
I guess plugins.ini might look different for different people. I am using Trillian Basic. Are you using Pro kc?? that might make it different.

I'm just pumped cause after finding this my system doesn't hang at startup and Trillian seems to run a little faster.
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
I was using Pro.

It was set to 0, I made it 1, the plugin still loaded. I'll play more later when I get home.
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
...I have used Gaim for a long time and the newest beta just won't work for me...

Mind my asking what doesn't work for you? Although there are several smaller bugs (especially with the UI) I haven't come across any that keep it from working.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,683
Removed the file and the reference to it in plugins.ini

Doesn't load anymore :D
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
You hacked out the entire av.dll?

Cheater! :p

I'll have to try that when I get home....thx
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
Mind my asking what doesn't work for you? Although there are several smaller bugs (especially with the UI) I haven't come across any that keep it from working.

well I'm using x64 which I don't know if that has anything to do with it, but if I clicked on a buddy to talk to them I immediately got a frozen message window with an error saying Gaim has encountered a problem bla bla bla and that it needs to close. I love Gaim but since I got the av plugin to stop loading in Trillian I'll just go with the one that works.

I'm also glad to have finally started a thread worth people posting. The last few I started were I guess snoozers and made people fall asleep or something. :dead::laugh:
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
I don't think Gaim is compatible with x64 (or fully compatible). Too bad too.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
I don't think Gaim is compatible with x64 (or fully compatible). Too bad too.

sadly I found that out too...too bad. I just want an easy not bloated multi-protocol IM client. I'm surprised at the lack of them out there. AdiumX sounds cool, but it's only a mac program.

That's what I'll be using when I get my macbook after the c2duo refresh.
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
OK I pulled an EP and deleted the plugin as well as took away its references in the .INI file - Trillian loads in like half the time now :D
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
sweet...I'm seeing about half the load time as well.
 

zeke_mo

(value not set)
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
25 Aug 2004
Messages
1,991
You need to go into the users folder and tweak plugins.ini not the ini that is in the plugins folder
 

zeke_mo

(value not set)
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
25 Aug 2004
Messages
1,991
bump, best thread ever :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,429
Members
5,596
Latest member
Joshua Liansky