Transparent?

  • Thread starter failurbydesign
  • https://www.osnn.net/admin.php?templates/thread_view.1970/delete&_xfRedirect=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.osnn.net%2Fadmin.php%3Ftemplates%2Foutdated Start date

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
My pc can run vista, but for some weird reason, my windows are transparent, but my task bar isn't anymore..why is that???
 

Attachments

  • weird.jpg
    weird.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 137

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2006
Messages
4,869
My task bar isn't transparent...

Vista Ultimate on my machine...
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
The taskbar is transparent when all windows are minimized or the active window (or windows underneath) are not maximized.

FBD, are you using the default Aero setup or have you applied another visual style? Because that window is really transparent so I assume you applied another visual style (which is likely the cause).
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
no other programs running, and just the default theme or style. nothing changed..it weird how it used to work, now it sucks...
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
Ray, as I said above, the taskbar is transparent when all windows are minimized or none of them are maximized.

FBD, when did it stop working? What changed? Did you try resetting to the default window color?
 

Sinster

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
8 Dec 2001
Messages
520
I had Logitech Harmony remote installed and once I removed or shut down the program my transparency came back.
 

omg its nlm

lvl 17 Hax
Joined
10 Jan 2004
Messages
1,829
The taskbar is transparent when all windows are minimized or the active window (or windows underneath) are not maximized.

FBD, are you using the default Aero setup or have you applied another visual style? Because that window is really transparent so I assume you applied another visual style (which is likely the cause).

CORRECT

My is always Transparent cause I patched the theme files and added a theme...
 

ray_gillespie

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
21 Mar 2002
Messages
1,693
Ray, as I said above, the taskbar is transparent when all windows are minimized or none of them are maximized.

Mine isn't tho, and as far as I am aware, hasn't ever been. Weird.
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
What are your index scores for Aero? My notebook scores a 2.0 for Aero (crappy drivers) but still appears transparent.
 

ray_gillespie

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
21 Mar 2002
Messages
1,693
5.9. The other translucencies work fine (windows etc) but just not the taskbar.
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
I think I know what's going on for you. I think your wallpaper is too dark at the bottom. Try changing to a lighter colored wallpaper (the black and white wallpapers included with Vista work really well).
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2006
Messages
4,869
I think I know what's going on for you. I think your wallpaper is too dark at the bottom. Try changing to a lighter colored wallpaper (the black and white wallpapers included with Vista work really well).
Bet thats for me too.
Ill try to change it.
My score is... sigh 4.9 stupid memory :p
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2006
Messages
4,869
That is what my taskbar looks like, all the time though. Not dependent upon programs open or not, hang on, let me change the backdrop.

Ok,
Heres the Dillio,
You were absolutely correct on it being the backdrop.
And the program thing open.
When the programs are open, it looks the same, BUT when you look very closely, the bar is transparent when the prgrams is closed.
Is there a way to change the transparency?
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
You would have to "patch" the uxtheme.dll file and then you can download after market visual styles, some of which give you maximum transparancy.
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2006
Messages
4,869
You would have to "patch" the uxtheme.dll file and then you can download after market visual styles, some of which give you maximum transparancy.
Hmmm, i dont think I will be messing with it :p.

Here is another Screeny, the backdrop has to be, high color or distinct between colors.

OOO
that is so weird,
if its an explorer thing thats open (my docs, etc) then it stays transparent.
Thats neat!

Screenie
http://www.sanitysdemise.com/forum/gallery/1_05_04_07_2_12_34.jpg
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
Right, windows can be open but if any of them are maximized then the transparancy disappears.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,002
Messages
673,448
Members
5,596
Latest member
Joshua Liansky