Task timings and identification

  • Thread starter Mainframeguy
  • https://www.osnn.net/admin.php?templates/thread_view.1970/delete&_xfRedirect=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.osnn.net%2Fadmin.php%3Ftemplates%2Foutdated Start date

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
29 Aug 2002
Messages
3,763
OK - now this is not something I often have need of - but...

every once in a blue moon I will have mutiple applications running (TN3270 as it happens) and maybe up to fiove instances as a max....

then my VPN connection may drop, rare but the server can do this...

then I cannot terminate the app any other way than from Task Manager... it is just coded that way -0 I know it is wrong but there it is...

SOOOoooo I have to terminate from task manager - but selectively - all APPs are named TN3270 and yet hold different sessions. The question is I can identify them by the time they were started so how can I tell which is which by time in Task Manager?

Answers will be repped if they work!
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
Not quite sure I understand your question, but if you are looking to find out the time and how long something has been running, do this -

In Task Manager, click on View -> Select Columns

Check the box for CPU Time, like so

optionsbe9.jpg


Then your task manager will have a running count with a new column, like so -

untitled2cs0.jpg



Hope that helps.
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
29 Aug 2002
Messages
3,763
cool - guess you understood OK since that works fine and dandy - Why I did not know that I have no idea (was pretty intuitive too!)
Ack - why can I not rep you though? have to spread and though I had spread a lot lately too!
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
go give someone some random rep love then rep kc..

btw, the cpu time is not really a measure of how long something has been running. It's just a measure of how much CPU time it has taken. For example: Lets's say I start up a folding client at 8 in the morning and set it to use 10% of my CPU, then I startup another folding client at 10am and set it use 90% of my CPU

My noon, the one I started at 10am will have a larger "CPU time" number even though I started it later.

Just something to be aware of
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
29 Aug 2002
Messages
3,763
sure Fitz - I am well aware of this and what it is - and with a dual core running 3270 it will work though
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,002
Messages
673,449
Members
5,596
Latest member
Joshua Liansky