Slow initial application launch time

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#1
I have this wierd problem where it takes FOREVER to launch applications for the first time, and then it seems to speed up slightly on multiple launches. Reboot and its back to incredibly long launch times...

any suggestions?
 

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#4
I have 1 Gig of ram =( and EnablePrefetcher is set to 3. I cant figure out what else it could be...
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
#5
can you get a screenshot of the task manager when your computer first boots?

Is it the same wait time if you run an app right after boot compared to if you login and wait a few minutes?
 

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#6
I'm talking about long wait times, long after I boot up. I was watching my task manager and it seems like the first time i launch a certain app, it shoots up to 100% cpu, and hovers there until it launches, the 2nd and 3rd time it only goes to 80% or so...
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
#7
Have you scanned for spyware and viruses?

Any rogue services running?
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#8
1) How long is long. App name and amount of seconds.

2) Have you defragmented your disk?

3) Is the disk a 7200 RPM

4) Is the disk capable of UDMA and the controller set to run UDMA?

5) Do you have your system and program files on a small seperate partition from your data or is everything on one huge partition?

5a) Check the spyware thing

5b) Are the program files on a seperate HD that needs to spin up when you load a new application?

6) Are you just getting too much caffiene maybe... ;)
 

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#9
Yeah, I'm pretty sure I'm clean of all that stuff. Some rare mystery virus is always a possibility, but I dont think so...any other settings/tweaks which affect application launch times?
 

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#10
LeeJend said:
1) How long is long. App name and amount of seconds.

2) Have you defragmented your disk?

3) Is the disk a 7200 RPM

4) Is the disk capable of UDMA and the controller set to run UDMA?

5) Do you have your system and program files on a small seperate partition from your data or is everything on one huge partition?

5a) Check the spyware thing

5b) Are the program files on a seperate HD that needs to spin up when you load a new application?

6) Are you just getting too much caffiene maybe... ;)

Its a 60gb ibm deskstar. yes its 7200. How can I check if its udma?

/edit nm found it, yeah primary channel is udma mode 5 for both device 0 & 1

System and program files on same hd (C). I defrag fairly often. think i just did one 2-3 weeks ago.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#11
If it's 7200 it should be UDMA. Make sure that the Bios is set to use UDMA. I swear it used to say if you are running udma under device manager but I can not find it now. And you need the 80 pin (stiff) cable from MB to HD to run UDMA and ATA100.

I'll keep looking for where to check the drive speed settings

FOund ti. It's under device manager, ide controllers, right click properties and select the Primary channel tab. Should say ultra dma 5 100 ata (or 133 if your system supports it).

And if you have a cd/dvd on the secodn port on channel one it will slow the HD down. optical drives should be on IDE1 by themselves. HD on IDE 0.
 

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#12
hmm maybe i'll move the cd burner to another channel, its sharing my primary channel now...thanks for the suggestion
 

Steevo

Spammer representing.
Political User
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,566
#13
Modern boards support dual speed channels, so the CD??? shouldn't be a problem. But the cable might well be a factor in transfer. I have seen too many branded PC's that scrimp in the most minute of areas. Go to start-run and type this "perfmon.msc" w/o the quote marks. The blue line is your hard disk activity, or in queue length. What is the peak and average when you try to load the application and any other programs?
 

leedogg

Gojyone kawaiiiiiiii!
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
820
#14
Avg was like 400, max was 804.010, peak was 100% over the entire delay period. That blue line is often peaking during my application launches...I think that may be it. what does that tell me?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,010
Messages
673,478
Members
89,037
Latest member
LolaGarcia