Satellite Card

N

Not Bman

Guest
That is nice, but I have noticed there are much better cards out there.

I am now asking what you guys think is the best one out there, or what you recommend?
 

Petros

Thief IV
Joined
19 May 2003
Messages
3,038
POST MORE NOW!

I almost bought a FTA receiver. This is a thousand times better.
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,374
POST MORE NOW!

I almost bought a FTA receiver. This is a thousand times better.
I can't undertand how a card can revieve satalite signals, why would their be a dish for a house when they could just use an antenae the size of a pc card

or is this some online thingy
 

Petros

Thief IV
Joined
19 May 2003
Messages
3,038
I can't undertand how a card can revieve satalite signals, why would their be a dish for a house when they could just use an antenae the size of a pc card

or is this some online thingy

The card provides a little power to the LNBF switch. Just point the thing in the right direction and you can get any signal, and decode anything that's encrypted if you know where to find the keys...

If anyone needs written help setting up, I installed systems for a number of years, dish network and non-commercial.
 
Last edited:
N

Not Bman

Guest
I can't undertand how a card can revieve satalite signals, why would their be a dish for a house when they could just use an antenae the size of a pc card

or is this some online thingy

You still have to plug in the satellite cable into the card.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Yea so as I posted in my other thread I ended up buying the

AzureWave AD-SE200 Twinhan 1028 Satellite HDTV PCI Card

and this is the newest card from (well there are a couple) Twinhan and unless I read wrong it does everything I am looking for. I hope there wasen't a better card and better deal out there.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
So I just got my satellite card in the mail today,

the AzureWave DVB-S PCI-E Card.


Now on the box and everywhere it says PCI-E, but when I look at the card it don't look like my video card PCI-E or anything such as that?
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2002
Messages
4,199
Its a pci card I am sure

PCI interface• Bus: PCI 2.2 Compliant


Stick it in any pci slot its not pci express its the old PCI
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
The picture looks likea PCI-e X1 slot card. It will work in any PCI-e slot. X1, X8, X16. But putting it in higher than an x1 is a waste.

Even the lowly PCI-e x1 is much faster than the old PCI slots.

DEFINITELY not an old style PCI card.

Let me know how it works out. Looks interesting.
Does it require a special dish?
Do you have to point it at a specific satelite or does it just pick up scatter off the network/cable satellite receivers?

It can't be using signals of of DISh or directTV. They are all encrypted. So that means it probably has commercials in the shows. I can live with this if enough channels are available.

GET it hooked up. WE WANT A REVIEW ASAP. I need something to spend my tax reabte on.

Wait. Ontario? Is this something that only works in Canada? :(
 
Last edited:
N

Not Bman

Guest
I have been using an HD reciever for my tv for awhile now and it works pretty great. Yes there are commercials, its basically normal TV. So I can, or can't put it in PCI?

I will take a picture of it and maybe you can tell further. And once I have it setup I will do a review type thing lol. And the dish needs to point to the correct area (pretty much any dish, that is not encrypted) and the cable goes to the card. Simple.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
The link you posted showed a PCI-e x1 card that needs either a short or long pci-e card slot. Regular PCI isn't compatible.

But lets see the card to make sure.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Here is the card that I got.

To me that does not look PCI-E but everything says it is....maybe my idea on what PCI-E is, is wrong..
 
Last edited by a moderator:
N

Not Bman

Guest
Yea don't PCI-E have that little thing at the end, where the clip clicks onto it? That does not have it?
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
old pci would have the connectors (gold things at the bottom of the card) in 3 sections, on all the pci-e cards i have seen - and the spare 8600gt i have sitting on the floor it only has 2 gold connection terminals on it, and the clip thing you speak of i think is norm on graphics cards
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Ahh ic ic, thanks for the info. Now I need to test if my PCI-E slot is dead, to be sure. My second video card would never work there, and the one I have now don't work there, but maybe it has to do with video cards. Is there a way to test if it is dead? All I have read is if you plug it in, it should be detected, if it works. Yet, I don't trust that by itself...
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR