router problem

randmdavis

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Mar 2004
Messages
36
can anyone tell me how to unblock an internet connection to a single computer that was blocked on an inhouse network by the previous computer repairman? the system has a linksys router. this computer has the internet blocked at any network outlet you connect it to throughout the network system. if other computers are put on the same connection the internet will work. i'm trying to figure out if the problem is a setting made in the individual computer or could be set at the router itself. if it is set at the router to block that computer how do you get to the settings for this particular router? this was set in the past to block this one computer on our network so i know it was done intentionally.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
You must be talking about the DMZ Zone in a linksys router. It is basically a passthrough for one computer throught the router while the others are behind the router? Is that what you mean?

Heeter
 

randmdavis

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Mar 2004
Messages
36
router

no not the dmz i'm familiar with that. is there a way to get to the router settings for a linksys router from your browser. i have a router on my home computer and i enter an address and it puts me in all the router settings but i dont know what it would be for this type of router.
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political Access
Joined
27 Dec 2001
Messages
7,626
You might PM a mod and ask them to move this thread to networking... you'd probably get more help there. :)

Linksys routers do have an admin config that can be reached through the browser. I believe that it's 192.168.1.1, so you might give that a try.


Edit: j79zlr you beat me to it! ;)
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
yeah use 192.168.1.1 default username is Admin default password is Admin ;)

from what i understand the network works, but it was setup to block da net from specific pc's? on my linksys router i would use:

http://192.168.1.1/Internet_Access.htm

can block a specific i.p/mac address from using the internet, i bet thats what the repair guy did :cool:
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
quick screenshot of a blank restriction. i think you will find the pc in question is listed with deny all next to it :)
 

Attachments

P

PseudoKiller

Guest
sounds like the MAC address is being denied access.
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
PseudoKiller said:
sounds like the MAC address is being denied access.
Sounds like it, but I haven't seen anywhere that I can make a MAC address entry for machines that are connected through cable. I think MAC address entries can only be made for wireless connections for added security.
 
P

PseudoKiller

Guest
no you can restrict MAC addresses in a linksys router for both wired and wireless.... Depends on what type of router but you can also restrict the times a computer on a network can have internet access.
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
that is what i said :p linksys can deny internet acces via mac address as well as i.p ;) look in my 1st screenshot, when ya click gthe add pc button you get this:
 

Attachments

P

PseudoKiller

Guest
Henyman said:
that is what i said :p linksys can deny internet acces via mac address as well as i.p ;)
yeah but no one wants to listen to a m00 b0y ;) :D
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
all he has to do is change the deny all to alow all for the computer in question :p
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
PseudoKiller said:
yeah but no one wants to listen to a m00 b0y ;) :D
Well, we can tell coz he n his fwends have been flattened (looks at his pic). :p
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
Thanx Heny. Just noticed the MAC for all connections there.


EDIT: Sorry mate, you're not getting any point for this help. Getting back at your from abusing me back in Jan. hehe ;)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,400
Members
5,586
Latest member
PseudoKiller