restore/cd/serial question

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#1
My computer is kinda be lame, i think i messed it up (ha i did). The computer came with a partitioned drive with back up and a full restore (5 gb), but i deleted it with partition magic on accident. If i was to get my hnads on a windows xp cd, could i use my serials located on the back of my pc with the windows? Its windows xp home....
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#2
Yes if you can get a XP Home disc you can use your serial with it. When you buy XP you only pay for the serial key, the cds are all the same. (Unless is was cracked or something)

I have used a OEM XP Home disc several times instead of the restore discs or partitions (which I've deleted, I despise restore partitions).
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#3
kick ass...can i use one with sp2 integrated?? Im so happy....my serial will only work with home huh?

ok ok, im browsing through partition magic and i see what i thuoght i deleted....how do i make it visable again??
 
Last edited by a moderator:

chastity

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
2,277
#4
Well first and foremost you need a OEM XP CD that is trying a OEM, I mean I have one and treid to install on a freidns computer but using his key and it didn't work. There from what I remember reading around here somewhere is that there is 2 OEM versions, retial which you can get at someplace like Fry's Electronics and then there is a OEM that is not tied to any key.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#5
Yes, it will only work with home.

Depending on the brand of computer the key may not work with a store bought copy of Windows (Retail or OEM). The only way to find out is to try it.

Check in the partition magic menu for an undelete partition command. I deleted PM from all my machines so I can't dig it out for you.
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#6
well with PM, i looked and it said that partition was hidden and not active. i made it active, then it took over the other partition and wouldnt let me go on my pc. SO i had to remove my hd, hook it up to my moms pc, and use Pm to fix it back to hidden inactive...
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#7
Yes you can use a SP2 integrated cd, there's no change to the way is checks the key, its just updated to SP2.
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
#8
OEM Product Keys are specific to OEM discs.
VLK Product Keys are specific to VLK discs.
Retail Product Keys are specific to retail discs.

You cannot use a retail Product Key on an OEM installation. So on and so forth.
 

chastity

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
2,277
#9
madmatt, that is not totally true. OEM Keys for say Home if you have the right OEM disc will take any XP Home key, same with OEM Pro. Now retail keys be them retail OEM or retail box will only work with that disc and VLK I believe has a few different files then most versions of XP
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#10
im lost, i just "got my hands on an xp sp2"..i have the key on the side of the computer...so should it work???
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
#11
chasity, I've tried using VLK product keys with retail CDs before and it rejects it. I've also tried the opposite. X can vouch for that because I gave him two different TechNet VLK product keys and setup wouldn't let him passed the enter product key screen.

Furthermore, in my experience, Partner Keys only work with Partner CDs.

I am simply speaking from my experience with product keys.

FBD, you can certainly try it. At worst it won't let you passed the enter product key screen.
 

chastity

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
2,277
#12
im lost, i just "got my hands on an xp sp2"..i have the key on the side of the computer...so should it work???
As madmatt said you can try it and at worse you will not get past the cd-key screen.



As for the differnece keys on different disc's madmatt your point is true to a point, however I have both a Home and Pro CD's that will work with any key for each version. I have a freind that works in a reapir shop and they are the CD's he uses when he has to.
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#13
well the cd key wroked great, but it wont let me activate. Then they have me talk to someone onthe ohone that i cant understand to tell me to go online and figure it out..im like..yea ill get your WPA killer.....JERK!!! But i wont do that...they also said its cuz this pc came pre-installed with the windows from dell, i need the retore cd...which i dont have...any ideas???
 
Last edited:

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#14
That's BS, I've installed XP Home on several laptops that had restore cds. I had to call the first time and they asked for the make, model, serial number, cdkey and place of purchase. I guess they need to verify it the first time. I just did a reformat the other day on one of them and it activated online with no problems.

Call em back and explain it, if you can't understand the person just hang up and call back or something.
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#15
yea i know it is, ive done it too...i hate dells.....that what this machine is. Um i also found a tool called KeyUpdateTool on neowin, but i dont get how it works....
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,413
Members
89,022
Latest member
ganster