Reshack Help Please

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
Resource hacking shell32.dll files - Help Please

Hi there
I know a few of you like Netryder have been using the great free tool called reshack to change icons within your dll files.
What I would like is help on making my own custom dlls from older ones.
The thing is I have some edited up shell32.dll files for example and reshack allows your to export all the custom files from it (such as icons, avis etc).
Is there a way to import these into your new, (newer version) file ? Because manually doing it one-by-one takes forever.

Thanks :)
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
I haven't ever built a whole custom shell32.dll file from scratch. I just think it's too much work.
tongue.gif

All of the custom files that I have were hacked by other people and posted as public downloads on various forums that I visit. Unfortunately, a lot of these links are dead now.

As for your question, I'm not sure how you could go about exporting ALL your resources from an old version of a file, and reimporting them all into the new version. It might be possible...I just don't know how.
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
ahhh ok NetRyder nevermind then :) I know how to export all resources (in reshack you just go to export all) but was seeing if there was a way to automate. Thanks anyway :)
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political Access
Joined
27 Dec 2001
Messages
7,626
I agree that manually doing it takes forever, because I just did one a few days ago. But I also agree with NetRyder in that it's a serious undertaking to build one from the ground up.

By the way, have you had good luck with replacing your shell32.dll? Are you using Replacer to do it? Just curious. :)
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
yeah I have had no problem replacing the system files, I am currently using a shell pack, which replaces system files like mydocs.dll as well. Shame there is no easier way to batch transfer resources :(
When I use replace I always boot into safe-mode and run it from there
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political Access
Joined
27 Dec 2001
Messages
7,626
indyjones said:
yeah I have had no problem replacing the system files, I am currently using a shell pack, which replaces system files like mydocs.dll as well. Shame there is no easier way to batch transfer resources :(
When I use replace I always boot into safe-mode and run it from there

Gotcha. Hopefully we'll see some utilities in the future that will make this all much easier. :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,005
Messages
673,461
Members
5,599
Latest member
Larry Chris