Replacing Hew-Pac OS question

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
#1
Hi Guys,

My friend has a HP laptop, not too old. It originally came with XPHome. The thing has been crashing pretty good lately. He would like to replace the OS with XPPro full version, instead of the HP System Restore disks. Will this be possible? How hard does HP make it to find drivers for the different hardware in the laptop?

Heeter
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#2
Yes, it's definitely possible. A lot of hardware will already be supported by the OS out-of-the-box. XP's driver support has been very good in my experience.

Before you take the plunge, you should check HP's site for a drivers download section though. Just make sure there are drivers available for his laptop. I know Dell has one that's updated quite regularly, so I'd think HP would have something like this too. Another place to check would be the individual manufacturer site for each piece of hardware.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
#3
If anything, I think he is concerned about his vid drivers. I think he said said that the vid card is a S3 (???).

But I check the HP site for stand alone drivers for him.

Thanks, Nets

Heeter
 

arson_nick

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
126
#4
The one that you really should be worried about is your network/modem drivers. There will be at least very basic video driver support out of the box, but there's nothing like formatting and not being able to access the net. That'll make it easy to download only the drivers you need once everything's installed.
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#5
Heeter said:
My friend has a HP laptop, not too old. ...
I have a HP desktop (iDesign) and this also has XP Home installed in just the same way, it seems to be HP policy to do this as a cost cutting measure - I am not too happy about it.

On the other hand if you fork out the money for the OS upgrade I cannot see how they could fail to support you in supplying all necessary drivers. Oftentimes you will be able to find them on the HP website - I know I have been able to do that for the TFT and seen others there.

Wish your friend good luck - should be very doable and make a much better install. I'd like to hear how it goes because if all is well I may do the same to my machine when the disc gets fuller - nothing like a format to free space :p
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#6
Shouldnt have too much problems, I did the same thing, all the drivers were on the HP/Compaq site. Besides I believe all XP drivers are the same Pro or Home doesnt matter.
 

Elroy Jetson

Little Dipper School
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Messages
330
#7
I changed my HP laptop from ME to XPPro, and found all the drivers on the web site from HP (before compaq merger). I would spend the time and download all XP drivers before the upgrade and burn them to a CD. S3 is a common grafic chip, XP should support it. Keep the recovery CDs handy, just in case it does not work. But should be no problem.

Good luck. EJ
 

CrazyBoyS

Me Crazy? NaH Never!
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
53
#8
Ya for any majore brand name labtop the drivers will be listed on thier web sites. I sell these things and do service on em so. As for the OS it doesn't matter what you use. As long as it is 2k or up.

As for a S3 chipset the driver is on their main page. Just need to know what chipset it is which is listen in the manual or at HP's web site.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
#9
Hi Guys,

*Update*

As everyone pretty much said, conversion was very simple. The HP notebook put up no fuss what's so ever. Any drivers that were missing, were actually available on the Windows Update site. All downloaded with all critical updates. Actually really nice to see no more of the useless HP shortcuts that clogged up the desktop and start menu. All he could afford was the XPPro Upgrade, instead of the Full Version, so, during the install, out came my old WinME CDRom. Now I know why MS came out with WinME. LOL

Thanks for all the help guys.

Heeter
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,421
Members
89,024
Latest member
swipk8