problem with router

russellc

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
12
#1
ok i've been using my router for a few days now and i decided to move my basically unused hard drive from the computer connected to the router through lan to the computer upstairs, connected through a wireless network adapter. ever since i plugged that hard drive into the computer and used it, the wireless network adapter has always been showing an excellent signal strength, but cannot connect to the internet or the router page. when i try having the settings at dhcp, it gives an invalid ip address error and when i try setting a static ip, anything related to the network doesnt work, just like before. internet connected through the lan works though, which is how i'm posting this. on the router, the led for the wan flashes sometimes. i'm using the smc2804wbr. thanks in advance :)
 

russellc

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
12
#3
i've tried resetting it, upgrading the firmware, powering off router, changing settings and none of them have worked. i can't even upgrade the firmware
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#4
You should be careful upgrading fireware if your connection to router is shoddy .. bad flash can make a dead router. ;) Also am I reading this right and you have a wireless access point and a wired router? If so then you would have to make one the gateway and other make sure other is set as a "router" not a gateway so that it forwards traffic to the gateway to the internet. :)
 

russellc

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
12
#5
i fixed it by resetting to the factory defaults lol..but i still can't upgrade the firmware...and i'm using a wireless router and wireless network adapter..
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,252
#6
check which firmware is already on the router. Also, check that you have the right firmware to upgrade to.
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,252
#8
oh.. I think you need to unzip it if it's in a .zip file.
Also, you must not do anything to the file if it's in .bin format. you just need to go into the router and upload the .bin file when you upgrade the firmware.
(This is the case for my Netgear router and Linksys wireless router.)
 

russellc

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
12
#9
how do i "go into the router"?? i go into the router's page, but that's about it...and i do unzip it..it extracts a bin file and a txt file (readme)..
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#10
russellc said:
how do i "go into the router"?? i go into the router's page, but that's about it...and i do unzip it..it extracts a bin file and a txt file (readme)..
What does it say in the readme about how to upgrade it? Linksys you usally can either use the flash program that comes w/ the update or go into the router web setup and do it from there.
 

russellc

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
12
#11
ok i just checked the part number and they don't have any firmware for it...and the current firmware is from september 26, 2003...should i use the firmware for the thing with a different part number or just leave it? the firmware i had was from the one with the different part number..
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#12
russellc said:
ok i just checked the part number and they don't have any firmware for it...and the current firmware is from september 26, 2003...should i use the firmware for the thing with a different part number or just leave it? the firmware i had was from the one with the different part number..
If there is not update DO NOT use a different versions update ... this will kill your router.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#16
russellc said:
do they have any programs like that? :D lol
they have them for flashing cd burners and the like (as many are rebadged) ... not a good idea unless you 100% know what your doing or have $ to burn :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,035
Messages
673,561
Members
89,038
Latest member
hzr414ac