Powertoys for Vista

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hey all,

Does anyone know if Powertoys is available for vista?

Need a pic batch resizer, and batch renamer, and virtualCD just like the powertoys for XP.

Thanks

Heeter
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
There are no PowerToys for Vista and it doesn't look like there will be. I heard rumors a while back but nothing yet. PowerToys for XP came pretty quick following RTM.

You can use Windows Photo Gallery (included) or Windows Live Photo Gallery (free download) to do batch image resize.
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,387
There are no PowerToys for Vista and it doesn't look like there will be. I heard rumors a while back but nothing yet. PowerToys for XP came pretty quick following RTM.

You can use Windows Photo Gallery (included) or Windows Live Photo Gallery (free download) to do batch image resize.
I just tried installing the xp image resizer...didn't work
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hey Guys, Thanks

Didn't know photo gallery did batch resize.


Heeter
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
TweakUI isn't for vista, don't use it with vista. Compatibility mode gives you a clue don't you think??
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
Your system to break. I wouldn't advise people to use it on Vista unless it said it was for vista.
 

Vishal Gupta

Microsoft MVP
Joined
27 Feb 2008
Messages
105
If a software doesnt work in Vista but works in compatibility mode, then there should be no problem in using it.

Actually when TweakUI was developed, Vista didnt exist. But every tweak in TweakUI works fine in Vista. So in other words, TweakUI supports Vista. :)
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,387
If a software doesnt work in Vista but works in compatibility mode, then there should be no problem in using it.

Actually when TweakUI was developed, Vista didnt exist. But every tweak in TweakUI works fine in Vista. So in other words, TweakUI supports Vista. :)
I never thought to run the power tools in compatability mode vishal

lordofla, that's what compatability mode is for, vista is designed to be backward compatable and really compatability mode might present some problems but if you can afford a crash and you want a program that works on your old os you should give compatability mode a shot, if you have a box and you aren't worried about stability on that box, give it a go

lordofla is correct of course if it is a system critical, then of course don't try it until you've experimented on breakable boxes
 
Last edited:

Vishal Gupta

Microsoft MVP
Joined
27 Feb 2008
Messages
105
I agree with you both but since I never faced any problem while using TweakUI in Vista, thats why I thought of suggesting it. :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Also Hi EP and people. I found this place again while looking through a oooollllllldddd backup. I have filled over 10TB and was looking at my collection of antiques. Any bids on the 500Mhz Win 95 fix?
Any of the SP crew still out there?
Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.

Forum statistics

Threads
62,013
Messages
673,480
Members
5,607
Latest member
endryshall