Power Supply for a Compaq question

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
Hi All,

I have sitting in front of me a Compaq 5430CA,

The power Supply is shot on it. My question is: I heard that these models have their own designed PSU's, that I cannot use a generic PSU. Can someone confirm this?

I have a new generic PSU that I can use if I can,

Thanks in advance,

Heeter
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
I don't know how proprietary it can be. Assuming you get a comporable PSU with adequate voltage and the right connectors for your mobo and your drives you should be good.

Did you find anything documented that the Power Supplies are specific to those machines?
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
Well, it came back from a repair shop and they told this client of mine that it cannot locate a propietary PSU for this model.

I am thinking along the lines like the old dell machines that the PSU's couldn't be swapped with generic because of the wiring. That is what I am assuming because of what this repair shop told my client.

Thanks,

Heeter
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
Have you tried contact HP/Compaq? I wouldn't put too much weight behind what some of the repair shops say.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
Proprietary PC vendors like Dell and Gateway use their own formats, not ATX, so they lock you into purchasing their power supplies and motherboards.

Its not the wiring, usually its the mounting screws and/or case openings that are not compatible.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
Some older model computers from around 2000 used different wires (same connector) which could get really messy.

Post the part number from the power supply and we can search for it's repalcement.

http://www.power-on.com/compaq.html
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
Theoretically, I should put the guts of this machine into a generic tower and then I should be able to use my generic PSU.

I will post the part number later today when I am in front of the machine,

Thanks for all your help so far guys,

Heeter
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
But again, they usually don't have standard ATX motherboard mounting screw locations.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
Jeez!!!!!

Stop making my life so complicated!!!!!!LOLOL

Will post part number later today,

Thanks, J

Heeter
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,977
Messages
673,276
Members
89,050
Latest member
lennerttt