Please Help: BSOD Issues on Dimension 9100

M

me_man

Guest
its a dimension 9100 and i was tryin 2 format it then put xp in it kept goin to da blue stop screen then i loaded defaults in bios now now im tryin win 98 then a upgrade but it says sumthin bout vnet bios then freezes up y?
im just tryin 2 get xp bak on it
 

tdinc

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
6 Dec 2003
Messages
3,508
Re: i need help any1 on?

Could you please repost your prob in a more clear manner. Hard to understand..thanks.
 
M

me_man

Guest
Re: i need help any1 on?

I need to install WinXP on a Dell Dimension 9100 SATA HD(Hard Drive).
It is formatted now,I've tried Win98 also it keeps saying "VNET Bios sumthin ERROR" then FREEZES on me.
And when i try XP PRO SP1 it goes to the BLUE STOP SCREEN then i have to restart it.
Is this clear enough?
If not let me know.
 
M

me_man

Guest
Re: i need help any1 on?

THNX but thats not my case plenty of memory
512mb ddr
160GB SATA HD
pentium D 3.?? GHZ Processor

i mess read brad about the memmory but not quit my case still.
my HD is formatted
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
24 Mar 2002
Messages
2,281
Re: i need help any1 on?

Please read what it says again. It says that you have TOO MUCH memory.
 
M

me_man

Guest
Re: i need help any1 on?

shuld i try taking a stik out and see if that works?
 

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
24 Mar 2002
Messages
2,281
Re: i need help any1 on?

That is what I would suggest :)
 
M

me_man

Guest
Re: i need help any1 on?

i gotta wait for it create a new partion now.
but then i will.

it did the same thing
the stop screen said sumthin bout disable caching and shadowing
it has bios ver. A01 i cant figure out how to disable them.

while tryin to install winxp it says somthin bout hit F6 for raid do i need to do that?
wen i dont it says loading windows then goes to the stop screen
 
Last edited by a moderator:

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
Re: i need help any1 on?

Ohh, SATA. That could be a problem. You need an XP Install disk with the correct SATA drivers on it.

DELL's usually come with a repair disk (or just a repair partition on the HD and no disk). If the HD is not the original Dell disk that could be the problem. Reformatting a Dell can be problematic if you don't go in preprared.

So, need more info:
Is the XP Disk the original Dell disk?
Is the HD the original Dell HD?
Do you have the Dell repair disks?

Due to the low cost of the Dell Windows liscence they are more restrictive than a generic PC.
 
M

me_man

Guest
Re: i need help any1 on?

no original dell xp disk
yes original HD
no dell repair disks
and as far as partitiond repair........i deleted the partitions!?!?!?!?!?
 
M

me_man

Guest
Re: i need help any1 on?

yes

xp is not picking up sata HD driver
 
Last edited by a moderator:

American Zombie

Moderator
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
23 Jun 2004
Messages
2,963
Re: i need help any1 on?

Resetting the bios will change a SATA setting and you have to change it back.

Look in the bios under Drives then SATA Operation.

You should have the following but maybe a bit different:
RAID Autodetect/ AHCI (the default setting) – RAID if the drives are signed, otherwise AHCI
RAID Autodetect/ ATA – RAID if the drives are signed, otherwise ATA
RAID On – SATA is configured for RAID on every boot.
Combination – combination mode, which offers compatibility with versions of the operating system that do not support SATA drives.

It will probably be set to the default and you need to change it to:
RAID Autodetect/ ATA – RAID if the drives are signed, otherwise ATA

Then drive should be seen by XP setup.
 

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
Thread title modified.

me_man, welcome to OSNN. Please be more specific with your thread titles in the future. Thank you.
 
J

johns

Guest
its a dimension 9100 and i was tryin 2 format it then put xp in it kept goin to da blue stop screen then i loaded defaults in bios now now im tryin win 98 then a upgrade but it says sumthin bout vnet bios then freezes up y?
im just tryin 2 get xp bak on it
Why don't you just download the drivers from Dell? They have the
proper OS cd also. Just give them your service tag #.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,005
Messages
673,461
Members
5,599
Latest member
Larry Chris