Ping/Tracert

Glass

sgàthan ìnnleachd
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
101
#1
I have no firewall or anti-virus running, TCP/IP filtering is disabled, NetBios is enabled, I'm not behind a router or a hub or anything, my ethernet card is directly connected to my cable modem, but whenever I try to ping any IP or web address it times out with 100% loss. If I do a tracert of any IP or web address it will only get to the 10.*.*.* HFC IP of the cable modem and every hop thereafter times out, it doesn't even show IPs. I can surf, download, and play games just fine. Any tips on getting ping and tracert to work?
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#2
1) If you haven't, check to make sure the Windows XP built in firewall is turned off.
2) The cable modem may be set up (by your ISP) to block pings or with a firewall to protect you from the other people on your cable trunk. They have full access to your computer otherwise.
3) The ISP may be behind a firewall.

Most games, MS Messenger, etc will play just fine behind a firewall so you may not even know if you have one up. Try setting up an FTP (bulletproof) or a ventrillo chat server and see if you can connect to them. If you can't a firewall is up.

If the ISP has set up a firewall in your modem or they have one attheir end you can ask if they will disabe it. They will probably say no since it is a bad idea.

Cable broadband is very vulnerable and should be protected by a firewall. Anyone on the same cable you're on has total access to your system unless you setup a firewall and can take control of your computer and use it to attack others.
 

silis

The bum.
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
63
#3
Tracert uses a different port than a regular ping. (router or ISP is blocking that port) If you want to do a tracert, there is something 'built-in' to windows called pingroute or somethign. Cant' remember the exact name. This was on a windows 2000 workstation as well... should work fine in win xp pro.
 

vern

Dominus
Political User
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
1,571
#4
pingroute? You mean traceroute? Which is exactly what tracert is.

If you can't do either ping or traceroute and are sure that you don't have a firewall, it could be possible that your ISP is dropping certain types of ICMP packets. I also have the same problem with ping with my ISP. Once my ping reaches my ISP's routers, the router drops it, and it never gets on the internet. However, I can traceroute fine until another firewall doesn't want me to traceroute through their networks, which is very common.
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#5
LeeJend said:
1) ... Try setting up an FTP (bulletproof) or a ventrillo chat server and see if you can connect to them. If you can't a firewall is up.
...
or (I think) you could just try wandering into NTFS chat? :cool:
 
P

PseudoKiller

Guest
#6
the destination IP might be behind a firewall and they are blocking ping requests. Tracert can die at a routers IP because it has been configured to do so.
 

Kr0m

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
1,390
#7
My ISP blocks trace routes and some other things as well. Maybe yours does too. Who's your ISP?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,001
Messages
673,432
Members
89,026
Latest member
ricegoadi