Photoshop and Out of Memory Error

Perrin

OSNN Newbie
Joined
29 Sep 2007
Messages
3
I am new to this so give me a break if I screw something up. Life stinks when yer technology ain't workin properly. I live in the mountains of NC and run trails and mountain bike at night. I am also a very talented visual artist. Never ridden the mountain trails under a full moon? Try it. Anyway, I'm here more for advice than entertainment. If anyone can help I would appreciate it. My problem for all you Einsteins out there. I am running Photoshop 7.0 on an Intel PC with XP with 4 gig of RAM. When I go to save a relatively small picture file -under 30meg-I get an out of memory message from Photoshop. When I do the exact same thing in PS 7.0 on my other PC/XP that is only running 1 gig of RAM it does the job just fine. I cannot see any difference in the settings I have in Photoshop between the two different computers, but there has to be a problem with some setting or configuration of the first computer. Can anyone help with this? Thanks -Perrin
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,085
thread moved and title modified

Hi perrin.. welcome to the forum. I moved your post to start it's own thread in the Windows Applications section where it will, hopefully, get more looks than in the "introduce yourself thread"
 

lancer

There is no answer!
Political Access
Joined
7 Oct 2004
Messages
3,093
do you have more than one HD on the 4gb box, if so try moving the scratch disk to that box by going to...

open ps7

goto > edit/preferences/plug-ins & scratch disks

make the 1st scratch disk go to your 2nd HD (i hope you have one).

If it is a memory issues this will solve it.
 

sean.ferguson

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
4 Jul 2003
Messages
1,693
This is what I was going to suggest, what I tend to do is have an external drive dedicated to photoshop and use it as a scratch disc. I have never had any issues with errors from Photoshop and I only run 2Gb of RAM compared to your 4. :)

And welcome.
 

lancer

There is no answer!
Political Access
Joined
7 Oct 2004
Messages
3,093
i've had this error myself before, ps7 has memory leaks.

Have you updated it, i believe the updates address this issue.
 

Perrin

OSNN Newbie
Joined
29 Sep 2007
Messages
3
Photoshop Update Issues

i've had this error myself before, ps7 has memory leaks.

Have you updated it, i believe the updates address this issue.

I have PS7 set for automatic updates and when I log on many times there are updates that are downloaded automatically. Is there a specific update I need to ask for? Thanks for your help.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Also Hi EP and people. I found this place again while looking through a oooollllllldddd backup. I have filled over 10TB and was looking at my collection of antiques. Any bids on the 500Mhz Win 95 fix?
Any of the SP crew still out there?
Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.

Forum statistics

Threads
62,014
Messages
673,490
Members
5,613
Latest member
robertwnielsenIA