Permissions do my head in

Mecham

Vista bug finder
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
131
OK this is a stupid question and I know the darn answer to the question but, I'm just having a Blonde Day. Logitech drivers work great with Vista for my keyboard and mouse. Oh it's SetPoint drivers by the way, Where was I yeah... Whenever Vista loads it wants me to give permission for Logitech Updates (Unicode) is there a way around this to grant permission to stop this from coming up all the time because its becoming very annoying now.

:mad:
 
Last edited:

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
Did you install under the built-in Administrator account or your own account? Also, I thought I read some where that SetPoint was not required for Vista that it had built-in support for new Logitech devices.

You could always disable automatic updating.
 

Mecham

Vista bug finder
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
131
Did you install under the built-in Administrator account or your own account? Also, I thought I read some where that SetPoint was not required for Vista that it had built-in support for new Logitech devices.

You could always disable automatic updating.
My own account as an Administrator, and the driver do work with Vista it just keeps wanting to grant permission for this file every time I load.
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
After checking with a source, Logitech does not have a Vista compatible driver available, not even in public beta. That is probably why you are having this problem.

However, you could try to install as the built-in Administrator (which has more permissions and unrestricted access than your administrator account).

Or you can disable auto update checking.
 

Mecham

Vista bug finder
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
131
After checking with a source, Logitech does not have a Vista compatible driver available, not even in public beta. That is probably why you are having this problem.

However, you could try to install as the built-in Administrator (which has more permissions and unrestricted access than your administrator account).

Or you can disable auto update checking.
I am probably about 45% through learning everything I need to know about Vista at the moment because I am the one who will be writing tutorial manuals for all the staff. :(

Oh sorry I have a really bad habit of not explaining things correctly. I do apologise. There are no Vista driver’s available at the moment but the Windows XP drivers 310 work fine on Vista.
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
As my previous post said, my source from within Logitech said the drivers are not designed for Vista and no public beta is available at this time. Even though they may work and you aren't flagged with any compatibility issues there may still be problems (such as the one you are having).

If you do not want to use the native support built-in to Vista then I would disable auto update checking.
 

Mecham

Vista bug finder
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
131
As my previous post said, my source from within Logitech said the drivers are not designed for Vista and no public beta is available at this time. Even though they may work and you aren't flagged with any compatibility issues there may still be problems (such as the one you are having).

If you do not want to use the native support built-in to Vista then I would disable auto update checking.
Will do.

Thanks
 

GEN3RIC

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
634
Setpoint isnt available for Vista yet. How are you getting it to work?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,993
Messages
673,362
Members
89,035
Latest member
adreinrich