OMG! This is pissing me off.....

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#1
OK. Lets start.
My games are already irritating me.
Almost all my games are crashing for some unknown reason!!
Even the old school Starcraft is crashing!!
It's pissing me off!!

What do you recommend me to do?
Where should I start??? :confused:

BTW. Can you list some of the most important windows updates. (Application and system related.) Dont list security updates.

Here are my drivers currently installed:

VidCard Driver: Version 52.16 nvidia driver (old)
Mobo Driver: V 7.0D (up-to-date)
 

forcer

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
413
#2
maybe update your vid driver, and see if you needd to update directx, maybe if everything is crashing your card could be over heating.
 
P

PseudoKiller

Guest
#3
whats the error you get when it crashes... info would be nice. Like what does the event viewer say?? Does it crash when you start the game or while playing?? Does it blue screen or is it an application failure/hardware failure??
 

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#5
Did all of them. I even downgraded my vidcard driver for troubleshooting purposes. But that didn't help. The errors I get are in different variaties. Blue screen happened once. Instant Crash in desktop happens all the time in many games. It always happens when during gameplay. Not before, not after. Sometimes, it's application failure. Memory stuff like that in warcraft. grr......
 

Petros

Thief IV
Joined
May 19, 2003
Messages
3,038
#6
Experiment with the games while running your ram slower (133 MHz) and see if it helps. And are all your fans working on your cpu and video card?
 

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#7
How do I set the ram speed slower?
I think I'm already running at 133 mhz.
All fans are working and running smoothly. I hope...
 

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#8
I already used the fail-safe defaults for the cmos/bios.
Didn't help.
 

Reg

eXperienced!
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
639
#9
The next time it happends, record the error codes (along with the problem it says has happened) and post them. If we knew what error you were getting, we could better troubleshoot.
 

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#11
Temps are @ 48C-50C at idle and 55C-57C at full load.
Using a glacialtech igloo(if that's a heatsink). Dont know the version or type.
I have 6 fans in total.
2 @ front. (Intake)
1 @ side. (Intake)
3 @ back. (Including power supply and vidcard cooler) (Outtake)
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
409
#12
my games were doing this. 2 things seemed to be causing it.

1. id overclocked my cpu
2. my temperatures were really high.

taking my cpu back down and opening the side of my case until i installed some fans did it for me.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
766
#13
I would suspect your memory - IF you have 2 sticks - try removing one and then playing a games to see if it crashes - if it dont try the other one.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#16
Yes, your temps are high, but not high enough to cause crashes.

I did not see your power supply rating and brand in the above posts. How big is it, and what brand name (if any)?
 

Attachments

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#17
Also prior to the games crashing did you intall any new programs/drivers or make any changes to your system?
 

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#18
Power suppy: 300W
Dont know the model.
I think it's an ATX. (saw it in a sticker attached to my Power supply)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
28
#19
PSU might be the culprit, I cant stress enough how important a good PSU is. Personally I wouldnt go below 400W. I have a 500W and although I didnt go with the best "Turbo Cool" I did get a good one, (approx. $100). I recommend an Enermax, Aspire, or Antec; cant go wrong with those. It sounds like it might be overheating, none of these lock-ups happen when in 2-D apps, correct ? Also, I would suggest underclocking everything, thereby lowering temps, and see if this prolongs the lock-ups. It sounds like everything ius running hot, yet you have decent airflow; did you use any thermal paste w/ CPU & heatsink (Arctic Silver3) ?

Of course, since your hardware is a little dated, you can always buy all new stuff !!!
 

[X]

Slayer[x] riding again...
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
39
#20
I think I found the source.
After unplugging 1 stick of my Ram, the games are running smoothly so far.
I'll keep you guys updated.
BTW, I ran memtest recently. (I assume you know this program well)
It said that there are no errors in my memory or ram.
I ran this program when the errors are getting bad already.
 

Members online

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,020
Latest member
Amanda99