Old Case Fans

M

MJS

I wasn't sure where to post this, but this is regarding case fans.

I am pretty new to all this, I am good at the software part and now ive just started to upgrade the hardware on my PC and my PC only has 2 fans (one built into the power supply and one above the heatsink on the processor).

I was thinking of buying a couple of new fans to keep the other parts of the PC cool when I salvaged 2 fans from my very old PC (AMD K6 233Mhz). The fans on this PC have old 2 Pin connectors. I tried plugging the fans into my new PC and they dont work. Im not sure if they are supposed to work on new motherboards or anything, but they worked fine on the old PC because I powered up to test them, but when I plug them into the new PC, there are no signs of life.....

Any advice?. I know the fans that I rescued are about 7 years old :eek: ... But if I can get some use out of them,,,, then great!

:)

i would doctor the cables to a yellow and a black off a 4 pin power out from the psu, the yellow is 12v, the red is 5v, blacks earth. then they will work, you probably tried to connect to the fan speed sensor or somthing daft.

once there working, get 1 blowing cool air into the front of the case, and mount the other at the back to draw it back out.

I'm not really sure what I did, but I found the only 2 pin connector on my mother board and it fit the 2 pin plug on the fans :eek:

This is the first time I have tried this, it will probably be easier to just buy some new ones, but if I can get the old ones working, it will save me some cash

Also, on the old fans, there are only 2 wires.... Red and Black :confused:

yes, but you musty join the red on the fan to the yellow from the power supply, as the yellow is 12v

I'm not really sure what I did, but I found the only 2 pin connector on my mother board and it fit the 2 pin plug on the fans