Networking / Broadband advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Khayman

I'm sorry Hal...
Political User
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
5,518
#1
Lets try again

Ok, help me out please. This is all theory at the moment, but I just want to get some tings straight.



If I where to get adsl, then I would need a modem, obviously, I would also want a router so I can get my mothers machine online.

I was looking at the “Netgear ADSL Modem, Router with 4-port 10/100 Mbps switch DG 834” (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0000E0YHF/ref=sr_aps_electronics_1_2/202-6043620-6746255). First of all is this any good? If not what is a good one.

Second of all would this be all I would need for connect the machines together?

I would get something like this USB 10/100 Ethernet Adapter for my mothers machine (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000062R4P/ref=er_ra_acc_dp_5/202-6043620-6746255)

And I have a D Link DFE-530TX network card in my machine. Could you tell me if all this would work together, or what I would need???!!!!!



I don’t know network hardware. Please help me !!! J
 

JJB6486

Retired Mod
Political User
Joined
Dec 3, 2001
Messages
1,207
#2
I would just buy a router without the DSL modem. Most ADSL Companies include a modem lease/rental in their monthly access fee; a modem should come with the service.

I recomend Linksys routers for home use.

-JJB
 

Khayman

I'm sorry Hal...
Political User
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
5,518
#3
the one i am considering doesn't include a modem, its a bare bones, cheapy do it yourslef style thing
 

Khayman

I'm sorry Hal...
Political User
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
5,518
#5
what i mean was the ADSL service i am considering doesn't provide a modem, so i need a modem and router. and how do they fit al together
 

JJB6486

Retired Mod
Political User
Joined
Dec 3, 2001
Messages
1,207
#6
Oh, then get the NetGear dohickey you posted in your first post.

-JJB
 

Zedric

NTFS Guru
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Messages
4,006
#9
Just a small point. If you ever change from DSL to anything else you'll have to replace the router if you get the one with a modem. Otherwise you just chuck the modem.

It may not be a problem by then, but it's worth considering.
 

Ezergeezer

OSNN Addict
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
123
#10
Oh No!

Khayman said:
I am considering tiscali
Tiscali is absolute rubbish, stear well clear, their billing is ridiculous. Also
what are you considering? Their "Broadband" 150k. Huh!!!

I've been with Pipex Ltd for more than a year and it's great !!!
I work at a large firm which employs around 600 people and many have asked
the same question and have signed up for Pipex on my recommendation.
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,252
#11
I've been with Pipex Ltd for more than a year and it's great !!!
I work at a large firm which employs around 600 people and many have asked
the same question and have signed up for Pipex on my recommendation.
I've been with Pipex since April 2002 and it's worked quite well... except when BT dropped the connection of thousands of DSL subscribers a while back.
 

Geffy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
7,805
#13
well I can still help you :p

The NetGear DG834 is a good DSL modem router choice, it will allow you to have a home LAN, and it also features a pretty strong firewall with DDoS protection and all sorts like that. Its actually the newer version of the thing I have both here at home and also at Uni where I provide internet for 18 other people via a wireless network, but that is plugged into a DG 814 which provides the DHCP lan config and the ADSL service.

So yes the 834 is a good model and no you dont need any other equip appart from NICs in each machine on the LAN and NetGear router will work fine with the other DLink hardware

Hope that helped
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,978
Messages
673,321
Members
89,018
Latest member
Pdawginhere