Network Vista Issues

N

Not Bman

Guest
I have 3 computers on a Network

2 Vista Systems
1 XP System

Both Vista systems can access the XP System, and the XP system can access both Vista Systems.

The 2 Vista systems can't seem to access each other. I have gone through the network settings area, its public, file sharing is on, everything is on. Whats the deal?
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Yea, all those options are set to on, even ones not needed.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
are they all on the same workgroup ?
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
turn off the vista and xp firewalls if you're behind a router :)
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
i have the firewalls on and im behind a router and they all see each other :)
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
are they all on the same workgroup ?

I am pretty sure they are, will double check (wouldnt be able to see each other if we werent, right?)

Forgot to add, when either Vista system clicked on the other, it asks for username and password, but I never made it password protected, and the XP one dont have that?
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
think that may be the issue not sure if vista allows blank passwords, didnt think any system did.

One thing you can do is make accounts on all 3 pcs with same username and password or

  1. Click System and Maintenance, Administrative Tools and then the Local Security Policy.
  2. Within the console, expand Local Policies.
  3. Click Security Options. The various security options are displayed in the details pane.
  4. Double click Accounts: Limit Local Account Use of Blank Passwords to Console Logon Only.
  5. Select the Disabled option
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
For some reason my Administrative Tools is empty, nothing there.?
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
on which machine? if there isn't anything in control panel -> admin tools then something isn't right
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Mine, didnt check the other lol

And on the other, there is no Local Sercurity Polices under it?
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
I am pretty sure they are, will double check (wouldnt be able to see each other if we werent, right?)

Forgot to add, when either Vista system clicked on the other, it asks for username and password, but I never made it password protected, and the XP one dont have that?

If you are not under the same workgroup, you will be able to see other computers, but you won't be able to access them. With vista networks, you have to put the user name of the person you have on there. If you have it set to not accept passwords, you still have to put the user name ... For example, on mine; when I go get on my network, I have to put the username without a password. So, if you use bill as your computer username, you would put bill without the password. I don't know why it is like that, but for some reason it is ...

one more thing - What version of vista is it ?? I have ultimate ... so it may be different between each of them ...
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
1 Vista System is Ultimate and 1 is Home Edition

Let me try adding into the workgroup.

*edit

Here is the problem, stupid Vista changed things. Where do I find that XP place called "Network Setup Wizard"? The Network & Sharing Center has nothing like that?
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Why do you give answers like that, it helps nothing.

I obviously can't find it, its not where it is in XP.

XP, Control Panel, Network Setup Wizard. That is not where it is in Vista, I don't even think it has it.

Now I searched Google, and they say its

Control Panel
Network and Internet
Network and Sharing Center

On the side hit, Setup a connection or network

But when I run that, its nothing like the XP version, and I can't seem to setup a network. I can connect to internet, some VPN crap, wireless and dialup, thats it.

*EDIT

I didnt find it the old way, but they are for sure on the same workgroup now. Yet the 2 Vista machines still need passwords.

*EDIT AGAIN

Well, it was way easier then I thought.

In Network & Sharing Center, under Sharing & Discovery

there is one section called "Password protected sharing", disable or enable there.

Now everything works, wow am I stupid for not seeing that.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
its in system properties, same place as XP. Why would I tell you to look anywhere else?
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
I was going to mention about the set up and connection center, bman, but thought you already had them set up ... Good that you got it fixed though ...
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Well I thought I did have it setup already, but I didn't go into the detailed settings, thats all.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR