network cable length?

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
4,590
#1
is the maximum length for a network cable 100 meters without having a switch in between and another wire?
 

silis

The bum.
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
63
#5
Look at it as if the network signal runs out of gas after 100 meters, yea, you can push it if your good - but usually it conks out at less than 100 meters. (If you want to go farther, use fiber or 10-Base 2 (coax).
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#6
you could use a repeater or a switch before the 100M to elp bost the signal, but be careful you could also boost the noise too.
 

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
4,590
#7
what about wifi? cuz the thing is two people on my compound live like maybe 200 meters away or 300 and they wanna get adsl and share it. well wifi would not reach right? since its not far reaching and through walls. is there anything else we could do?
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,252
#9
For wifi get an antenna, it allows the signal to reach a maximum distance of around 5km. This, however, is the approximate distance between two points that are in direct line of sight. i.e. no obstacles in between them like a wall.


As for network cable, I'm not too sure which type of cable you are talking about since there are a number of different network cables you could use.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#10
Here are the numbers for 100 Mhz ethernet:
http://www.duxcw.com/faq/network/cablng.htm
One interesting note. The max length is set by the protocal timing, not the cable quality. But make sure you use Cat 5 cable or you won't even get the 100 meters due to noise.


For 10mhz can go much longer if you have coax connectors on your cards and can afford the coax:
http://www.homenethelp.com/web/explain/maximum-cable-length.asp
You can use Cat 3 cable for this but why bother. I see Cat 5 selling cheaper than Cat 3 now.


There are "long range" wifi equipment available but they are intended for commercial applications and are priced accordingly.
 

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
4,590
#13
ok so what i need is a wireess router for the pcs with the dsl and the cantenna , and for the remote pc is a wireless access point and the cantenna?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,020
Latest member
Amanda99