My New System

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Hey Guys (and gals),

I just built a new desktop and was wondering what you thought. Here's the specs:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ (89W)
Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair
Memory: Kingston HyperX 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit
Video Card: 2x BFG GeForce 7600 GT OC 256MB (SLI Enabled)
Storage:Power Supply: Enermax Liberty 620W ATX 12V Ver2.2 Power Supply
Case: Thermaltake XaserIII V2000A (Reused from old desktop)


Edit: Added pic. Note that the side panel is actually from a Thermaltake Armor (got it from a friend) which is why the top latch is missing. I will have to mod the case to get the latch to fit.
Edit2: Updated some specs and want to add URL for more pics: http://www.michaelsoft.gotdns.com/other/Computers/Evan/
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0024.JPG
    IMG_0024.JPG
    637.3 KB · Views: 201
Last edited:

madmatt

Awesome is as awesome does.
Political Access
Joined
5 Apr 2002
Messages
13,314
Congratulations Admiral. What OS did you go with?
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Well first I tried XP Pro x64 but the lack of drivers for some of my hardware made me switch back. That and the lack of a performance gain as well.

I've tried Vista Ultimate (even have a free copy for being a beta tester) but I despise it entirely. So I'm using XP Pro x86.
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
22 Oct 2006
Messages
1,240
nice case and psu...

just a question... why didn't you go for a core2?
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
AMD Fan. Oh and my friend was going to give me his CPU as well but the store didn't have the one he wanted so he gave me $100 to put towards one.
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
22 Oct 2006
Messages
1,240
ah, cool then
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
Glad its not just me who spends too much time tidying cables :)
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Just let me add that I was having issues and learned OCZ and ASUS don't always play well together so I bought Kingston HyperX 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit to replace the OCZ and it's been clear sailing since. I also thought my PSU was underpowered as the mobo manual recommends at least a 600W so I upgraded to a Enermax Liberty 620W ATX 12V Ver2.2 Power Supply.

I updated the info in the first post. Oh and I took some pics:
http://www.michaelsoft.gotdns.com/other/Computers/Evan
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
any particular reason for going 2 x 512 and not 2 x 1 gb, ram prices are so cheap now.
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Well Mostly is was money, those cost me about $150 and I had to charge it. I needed my system running and couldn't wait.

Also it's the only Kingston kit they had. They didnt have any of the 2x 1GB kit in stock also that kit wasn't the high performance ram with the heat spreaders (which I think look awesome).
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
Hmmm interesting to know as i was planning on coupling those two brands (OCZ and ASUS) more reading to do....

Check their website, they publish known working memory makes & models for their motherboards.

E.g. I have a M2N-SLI deluxe mobo and here is the qualified vendors list: http://dlsvr03.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socketAM2/M2N-SLI%20Deluxe/M2N-SLI_Deluxe_QVL.zip

I have 2X1024MB GEIL's in my rig which isn't on the list [since they published after I bought it] but they work fine.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
Isn't that interesting. No OCZ on the entire ASUS list.

Glad you posted that. FRY's is selling OCZ ddr2 6400 dirt cheap (2x1gb for $79 after rebate) and I was going to buy some to start accumulating parts for the next system. If asus has an issue then I'm not going to risk it since I won't be using the RAM for months.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
Yea, but like I said, the GEIL ram I have isn't on that list but I haven't had any issues. Might not be a bad idea to stick with what they say work though.

EDIT: That list is for the M2N-SLI Deluxe, I am not sure if each motherboard has its own list or if that is for all ASUS boards.
 
Last edited:

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
Although its really old now, I have not had problems running OCZ in my A7N8x 2.0, and I am now running GEIL. However each motherboard is different so I don't doubt that OCZ does not play well with your board. Also I dont blame you going with AMD, I am going to go with Intel on my new system and it very confusing to know what chipset to go for, as least with AMD its easy and you went for the best :)
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
nice choices...I would look at this as well since intel is probably less than a month away from drastic price cuts...
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
That would be good. I'm not sure who I'd sell my CPU and mobo to. If I could even sell it.

Altho if the Intel drops the prices then it would be alot better for me as I still have to pay off my credit card (I put my laptop on it as well as other things).

This Intel idea was a thought, just wanted to see if I picked good components.
 

saeltmarae2k

OSNN Addict
Joined
2 Jun 2004
Messages
73
I have a question.

After using a Core 2 on my laptop I can say the Intel CPU seems to be more superior to AMD.

I was thinking of selling my CPU and Mobo and going with a Core 2 setup on my desktop as well. Just wanted to ask your opinion on the mobo and CPU I picked as this would be my first Intel build.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Socket LGA775, 2.13 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB, 4MB L2 Cache, 65nm (Retail Box) (BX80557E6420)


MSI P6N SLI-FI NVIDIA Socket 775 ATX Motherboard


I'm running that chip right now...and its niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice. Just get a better cooler. I went with Zalman...they never let me down.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR