Microsoft Tilt Wheel Mouse

chris

Free to Fly
Joined
Sep 9, 2002
Messages
1,109
#1
A while back someone posted about binding the tilt wheel on one of the new Microsoft mice. Anyone know if it can be done? I'm looking to bind it in Enemy Territory if that helps, good ol' Quake engine.

Any help is appreciated.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,625
#2
Bought myself a tilt mouse about a month ago but totally forgot about those buttons about 10 minutes after I got it all installed!
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,625
#4
The one thing I don't like about it, and I am talking about the intellimouse explorer 2.0 is that mouse wheel is very very sensitive.

the mouse itself is alot more sensitive and thats fantastic. it zips around, makes me twice as good as CS.
But if I use the mousewheel to switch weapons it can take me a couple of seconds, which is a pain in the arse as
a) I might have a knife out and be trying to flick it uselessly onto my colt
b) I buy a colt and need to switch to a knife, as you run faster with a knife - fumbling means I lose a couple of all crucial steps.
 

chris

Free to Fly
Joined
Sep 9, 2002
Messages
1,109
#5
I probably have same mouse, I got the Desktop Elite set with keyboard as well. With the mouse, I've noticed the middle button scrolling is alot more sensitive as well, alot more. Switching weapons is most affected as you sometimes flip past the one you want.

Got used to it now, just.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,625
#6
Yeah, I picked mine up for £55 at Amazon.

Also so the elite executive down at staples.
The mouse had leather on it I tell thee.
Was hoping mine would too, but sadly no.
 

chris

Free to Fly
Joined
Sep 9, 2002
Messages
1,109
#8
Hrm, just had a response on another forum and the person says you cant bind the key "yet".

Not much help :(
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,625
#9
You just know you would end up binding to something important and knocking it every 5 minutes anyway :D
 

chris

Free to Fly
Joined
Sep 9, 2002
Messages
1,109
#10
Heh probably :)

Someone must be working on drivers, or software that isnt ****e like the software that comes with it.

Guess i'll have to keep my eyes and ears open to it
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,625
#16
Yeah, I am just bitching tho, my old mousewheel use to have a tiny little click for each switch making it very easy, this new one is just too smooth :)
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
101
#17
I think that was me that posted about it. I wasn't able to get it to work in older games. CoD works with it.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,993
Messages
673,383
Members
89,025
Latest member
JoanANelson