Memory installation

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Messages
355
Hi guys ..

I'd just like to confirm which slot should I install my memory module. For your information, the mainboard is a Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L and the memory consist of 2 piece Kingston DDR2 1GB memory each. 1st memory module is double-sided while 2nd memory module is single-sided.

On mainboard of course has 4 memory sockets. According to the user guide, Channel 0: DDRII1, DDRII2 and Channel 1: DDRII3, DDRII4.

Now with the memory modules that I have, which slot should I insert in? Should I put in into DDRII1 and DDRII2 or DDRII1 and DDRII3? Would there be any difference?

Thanks in advance for your input. Cheers .. :):)
 

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Messages
355
Thanks David_L6. What is the difference if it was plugged into the yellow and green slot instead? Just my curiousity.
 

roirraW "edor" ehT

Builder/Installer
Joined
5 May 2008
Messages
529
Different motherboards and motherboard manufacturers are inconsistent as far as whether you should plug the memory into the same color or different color, but in your case when you plug two (preferably identical) memory modules it's what's called "dual-channel". I don't know if you know anything about RAID 0 (striping) for hard drives, but think of it as RAID 0 for memory. Also can be compared to SLI for nVidia graphics cards or Crossfire for ATI.

In all cases it's effectively interleaving the two devices as if they are one so that the machine gets better performance overall.

If you used the wrong combination of memory slots, the RAM should still work but they would work in single-channel mode, which is what memory operates at of course if there is ONLY one RAM stick, or in the "old" days before the existence of dual-channel.

We've got quad-core mainstream processors, when are we getting quad-channel RAM? :D
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
in short channels, if you stick the 2 sticks of mem you have in the same colour channels they work in dual mode, if you put them in one yellow and one green they do not work as well as they are in single mode, or something to that effect, i have only been up 15 mins so still sleepy and no coffee, but it should tell you in the manual

his should explain things a bit better

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel_architecture
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Off topic, but I think is better to keep in same thread.

If you overclock ram, how do you know if it is running to hot, or is giving problems. What sort of problems can arise from RAM overheating or what not?
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
windows crashing, apps crashing, slowness, heat in pc goes up, iffy picture
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
you think 1066 to 1200 too much? (assuming system has enough power and cooling)
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
no - but it will die sooner - general rule of thumb is to never over clock no matter how much power or cooling you have as it will always come back to bite you on the ass, if you need the extra power buy the next step up.

In short you will now when over clocking starts to mess your system up :D
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,425
Members
5,593
Latest member
moussa021