MB/CPU Upgrade Gone Bad

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
I stumbled into a lot of annoying new problems during this last upgrade from KT333/XP2000 to NF2Ultra/Barton 2600 so I figured I'd write it up and share.
It gets a little lengthy so I attached it as a text file.

It will also be an opportunity for anyone I ever slammed to get their vengeance. ;)
 

Attachments

  • An Upgarde Gone Bad.txt
    7.9 KB · Views: 115

Dubbin1

I Like Cheese
Joined
29 Jan 2002
Messages
744
LeeJend said:
I stumbled into a lot of annoying new problems during this last upgrade from KT333/XP2000 to NF2Ultra/Barton 2600 so I figured I'd write it up and share.
It gets a little lengthy so I attached it as a text file.

It will also be an opportunity for anyone I ever slammed to get their vengeance. ;)
Is this just a lesson you learned or do you have a problem. I started reading your text file but you was rambling too much for me to stay with it.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
Lessons learned actually.

The CMOS reset is getting to be high risk due sensitivity of bios to getting wiped.

Some test results on how Dual DDR does not seem to be worth much (FSB limited)

Overclocking the CPU is a waste of effort for gaming.
 

Krux

Nissan Powered
Joined
6 Apr 2002
Messages
1,649
I've never seen bios' wiped out from trying to boot with the cmos jumper off must have been some kind of freak happing in the twilight zone :)
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
It's happened to me twice now (ECS and Gigabyte) and to a friend who builds systems for sale twice also (ggiabyte and PCChips). All occurences within the last 8 months.

ECS web site now recommends disconnecting the power cable from the MB before doing the CMOS reset.

If you don't beleive do a few reboots on your system with the CMOS jumper off or installed on the reset side.
 

ElementalDragon

The One and Only
Joined
8 Aug 2002
Messages
3,159
i had a problem with my new GigaByte Mobo when i bought it. installed everything and the computer wouldn't show anything on the monitor. here the CMOS settings had to be reset to default using the jumper. which kinda makes you wonder why they wouldn't have been at default to begin with when it's a brand new mobo.

and about Dual channel DDR... not sure about how exactly this would be for AMD since the only AMD system i have is my laptop, but my desktop is a P4 2.4 GHz w/ Hyper threading (800MHz Frontside bus) and i'm running 2 sticks of 256MB DDR400. so for the P4 it's not really a FSB limit. that is unless you kinda spent boatloads of money for the brand new..... DDR550 is it that we're up to now?
 

Krux

Nissan Powered
Joined
6 Apr 2002
Messages
1,649
LeeJend said:
It's happened to me twice now (ECS and Gigabyte) and to a friend who builds systems for sale twice also (ggiabyte and PCChips). All occurences within the last 8 months.

ECS web site now recommends disconnecting the power cable from the MB before doing the CMOS reset.

If you don't beleive do a few reboots on your system with the CMOS jumper off or installed on the reset side.


I would cept I have an nforce board and I have no cmos header it resets itself :rolleyes: I also had a gigabyte board (with dual bios) that I overclocked quite a bit and had to reset quite a bit. I never said it wasn't possible just that I had never seen it happen.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
That's what I said until two weeks ago. Now I'm a beleiver...

Sheesh 2 in one day. Musta been a full moon.
 

Sazar

Rest In Peace
Joined
12 Apr 2002
Messages
14,905
my mobo just refuses to boot unless cmos jumper is set properly.. sort of a nice feature... if it comes to that :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,999
Messages
673,424
Members
5,592
Latest member
Rhilani