linux

trackrat

Birmingham UK
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
154
Is their a free downloadable version of a linux OS.
I have BB, so the download will be no problem.
Regards Alan :confused:
 

canadian_divx

Canadian_divx
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
1,554
mandrake, gentoo, slackware, suse, redhat fedora, and millions others

http://www.distrowatch.com/

persoanly i think gentoo is the best but for a new user mandrake 9.2 is great but if u have a basic LG cdrom it might kill it but if it is a burner or dvd rom u are fine
 

trackrat

Birmingham UK
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
154
The couple of sites I have been too are asking you to buy mandrake & redhat, can anyone post me some links to the free downloads as i have just put together a new computer and wanted to experiment with Linux.
 

trackrat

Birmingham UK
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
154
thanks

Thanks to you all for the links, I will have a look tomorrow when I have more time to do downloads. :eek:
 

trackrat

Birmingham UK
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
154
I dropped a clanger :eek: I burned the first two redhat discs as a normal data disc instead of an iso image disc.
Can i put these discs back in and burn another to an iso image or do I have to download them again.
 

penguin

g0t r00t?
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
101
Just copy the ISO off of the CD's back to your HD and them burn the image.
 

trackrat

Birmingham UK
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
154
Penguin can I put the disc in the dvd player, select burn ISO image then burn it or do I have to download it to the hard drive first?. :confused:
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
trackrat said:
Penguin can I put the disc in the dvd player, select burn ISO image then burn it or do I have to download it to the hard drive first?. :confused:
i would recommend copying it to the hard drive first.
 

canadian_divx

Canadian_divx
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
1,554
good choice but just in case i have encournted some errors with fedora with 2 network cads and some USB 2.0 by SIS and VIA, they were hulting the systems but once disabled and a USB card was entered all was good, i just thought you might want to know of this bug if u encountered it.
 

trackrat

Birmingham UK
Joined
Jan 5, 2004
Messages
154
canadian_divx said:
good choice but just in case i have encournted some errors with fedora with 2 network cads and some USB 2.0 by SIS and VIA, they were hulting the systems but once disabled and a USB card was entered all was good, i just thought you might want to know of this bug if u encountered it.
Thanks for all your replies, I have plenty to think about now.
Regards Alan
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,977
Messages
673,276
Members
89,050
Latest member
lennerttt