laptop cellphone and internet?

• Thread starter mafiafromrussia
  • Start date
M

mafiafromrussia

i was just thinking here is it posible to connect to internet on a laptop using a cellphone somehow? if it is posible what do i do to make it work fine?

unless you have some kind of high-tech cellphone that allows external inputs to make phonecalls, i highly doubt its possible...

ive always asked myself the same question, but all i can think about is the vision of a phone that has an RJ-11 input for external phones to make calls...i dont even think such a phone exists...and seeing as how phone makers strive to make phones thin and small, the addition of a big RJ-11 connector would make it big again

(edit in bold)

ok well we'll just have to try to make our own cellphones? :)

well, I've been connecting with srint for two years...very slow...7k...you need to buy the software from sprint...I wonder if other cells can do it too?

sprint says they'll ahve 144k in a few months

My buddy just got a new phone from verizon, they said he could get the internet on it, which he thought to mean that it would be on the little phone screen, pretty much dumb, but the guy went on to explain he could get a USB adapter for the phone and actually use the phone to connect a computer, most usefully a laptop, to the internet, however I do not know of speeds

Actually, it's very possible. In fact, the technology has been out for a couple of years now (Sprint was the first company to offer this). It requires a cell phone with WAP capabilities, a laptop or notebook, and a special connector that will connect from your laptop's PCMCIA to your cell phone (these are available from either your cell provider or from the phone manufactorer).

Simply connect the phone to the net using the WAP browser it should have and then your all set.