Just put in the 3.4 800 1meg P4 478 pin Do I need different memory?

Mazspeed

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
85
I just bought a new P4 478 pin 3.4 gig 800 fsb 1meg. My other was a 2.8 533 478 pin. It doesn't want to boot up? Do I need updated memory to use this new processor? The memory is DDR 3200

Thanks in advance
Mike
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
clear the cmos and attempt to boot after that...

generally fixes any issues you may have with booting upon installation of a new cpu...
 

Mazspeed

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
85
How do I do that, I can't boot into BIOS after installing the chip.
Thanks
Mike
 

bush dogg

OSNN Senior Addict
Political User
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
433
What Mobo do you have?

I've seen this happen when your Mobo don't support 800Mhz fsb Processor's.
 

Elektro Slime

Harware Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
334
yup thats the prob bush dogg, Mazspeed you need to download the latest bios from ur mobo manufacturer's site and then install it, i bet itll work fine after that.
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
Feb 8, 2004
Messages
226
that board supports ddr2, the little connectors are like hair, i would advise to switch to pc4200 ddr2.
 

Mazspeed

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
85
I have the azus p4c 800 delux. Do I still need to flash the bios? How do I do this, as I have never done it before.

Thanks again guys
Mike
 

Mazspeed

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
85
I need the asus product cd that came with my motherboard, and I don't have it.. grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr I'm stuck
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
Hi Mazspeed,

All the firmware you will need for your BIOS upgrade is available on the ASUS site. The instructions for upgrade your BIOS is available there as well.

Just make absolutely certain you get which download you need, for your particular board.

Heeter
 

mbx

Marathon Project
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
55
Asus p4c800 Deluxe

Use that link if your mobo is DEFINITELY a p4c800 deluxe and not a p4c800 or p4c800-e deluxe.

Your new cpu was supported from bios level 1017, so put the old cpu in,switch your machine on, and note the BIOS level reported on the POST screen.
If the number is lower than 1017, you need to upgrade the BIOS.

Go here to see how to flash BIOS

BIOS level 1019 (the newest) is here

Fingers crossed, and good luck :)
 

Mazspeed

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
85
Ok got it. I was able to do it and flash the bios (big pain in the ass) but since I was running SCSI's and other ad ons I had to take it in so that they could redo the bios settings. I wish they would tell you this stuff on the website. Oh well I got it, and it's faster now. Thanks for your help everyone.

Cheers
Mike
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,978
Messages
673,277
Members
89,052
Latest member
KateBentley