is it me or is it utorrent ??

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
I have noticed that, when utorrent is running, my bandwidth goes to almost nothing. Yet when I shut it down I get it back. It does this whether I have one thing downloading or multiple things downloading.

Is there anyone else having this problem, and, what could be the cause if it ??
 

yalooze

OSNN Addict
Joined
14 Jan 2004
Messages
100
What do you have your upload speed set to?

Setting it to about 70% of your max upload is recommended, anything above this slows browsing etc down heaps.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
I don't have a linksys router. It's a wgt634. I found on that site that there are issues with netgear routers as well. So I did what they said to try and fix it ..

I have my upload speed set to 25k, with a 768k upload. I tried the diff upload rate tests, from 10k to 50k, all it did was fluctuate the download speed, the higher the upload rate the slower the download speed went. It didn't change the bandwidth issue though. It runs the same no matter what download rate I use ..
 

yalooze

OSNN Addict
Joined
14 Jan 2004
Messages
100
Have you checked whether it's bittorrent in general of if it's utorrent specifically?

Maybe try Azureus and see if you have the same results.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
I didn't think of that, yalooze. Thanx. I'll try that out and let you know ...

As a note: So far, what I did was this - I disabled UPNP port mapping, Lowered the Global Max connections from 600 to 200, kept my upload speed set to 25k, turned off pre-alocations of files, Lowered the number of max downloads and running torrents to 3 (it was set on 5). As I do more I will post them ..
 

American Zombie

Moderator
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
23 Jun 2004
Messages
2,961
If downloading more then one torrent I would set the upload manually on each torrent when starting it (advanced button on add new torrent window) or right-click torrent > properties > general tab while torrent is running. Set upload to different amounts that equal up to what you want max to be. Like if you want 25 and have two torrents running then set both to 12 or one at 10 and the other at 15. If you have three then set them to 8 and so on. Reason is I have seen times where if global is set to 25 or whatever then each torrent wants to try and take that amount. So if set to 25 and doing three it tries to take 75.
 

lynchknot

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
1 Sep 2002
Messages
800
I noticed that, when using Firefox, sometimes pages will load forever until I pause torrents for a moment - Firefox will then use CPU and load the page. Until then Firefox will stay at zero CPU and not load anything. (and this occurs when CPU is low to idle as it is)

Then it's back to normal.

Other times, I see 700+kB/s downloads with 40+kB/s upload - and browsing is normal. I have mine set to unlimited both but started to limit how many torrents I'm seeding. Seeding 30-40 torrents is not a good thing.
 
Last edited:

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,418
Members
5,591
Latest member
nodee