Internet Explorer and variants (MyIE, Avant, etc) discussion

X-Istence

*
Political User
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
6,498
#1
Internet Explorer

This thread is where you can talk about Internet Explorer and anything that uses it like MyIE, and loads of others.

Enjoy :)
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Messages
165
#3
For some reason IE wont allow me to view source on web pages and doesnt seem to be caching anything either. I installed MyIE a couple months ago and it was working back then but now its doing the same thing as IE. All my settings match up with my other machine that isnt having this problem so Im kinda out of ideas? It was also like this about 4 months ago before I did my last reinstall so Im guessing its some program I have installed but havent got a clue as to which one it could be?

[side note] Sorry to see that disaster has struck at NTFS. It took me about two years to get up to my whopping 100+ post count, dont know if I have it in me to type that much again. ;(
 

sidefx

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
103
#4
I have been using MyIE2 now for quite sometime. However, when I updated to the latest version [MyIE2 0.9.13] it continues to tell me I'm using MyIE2 0.9.11.

I've done a search of the registry for myie and myie2 and have deleted all entries before installing the latest build and to no avail.

Any suggestions as to why it's doing this? Would it be possible that I have the latest version just that it's displaying the incorrect version?
 

vern

Dominus
Political User
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
1,571
#5
I've been using several versions of MyIE2. Installing over a folder it was previously installed should do the trick every time. I have had no problems with it. I only use other browsers like Firebird to see how a page might look. But since gecko rendering, I haven't had to use firebird for a while. Most pages look better on IE anyway, merely because most people still don't follow standards when write webpages.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
48
#6
been using avant browser for about 6 months... love it, the IE rendering engine is much smoother than gecko IMO, works with every site i can throw at it, has some pretty cool keyboard shortcuts for the tabbed browing system, which has been perfected, and excellent themes. cpu/ram use is minimum. wouldn't trade it for any other browser out there. get the 9.01 beta 6 at http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail.php3?fid=1033086666
 

NuclearSmegma

This Space for Rent
Joined
May 27, 2002
Messages
150
#7
I live by MYIE2 - tabbed browsing and mouse gestures are sweet. No more need to choose between Opera and Mozilla. Love the plugins.


I agree with Vern, "Most pages look better on IE anyway..."
 

theevilsithlord

Hail to the King, Baby!
Joined
May 18, 2002
Messages
131
#8
i use avant, and it works great, except for i sometimes seem to get these errors when exiting. I have the 9.01 beta 6, and it happened in the older version that i had as well. Ive tried to narrow when the error occurs, but it seems to just happen randomly. Also im not sure if its avant or internet explorer's fault.
 

Attachments

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#10
I been using MyIe exclusivly also. I love it - It has all the features I need and yes pages do look better in Ie. I have the gecko engine engaged in this as well ..
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
314
#12
I used to use Opera, and I tried Firebird, but for the past 6 months or so My IE2 has been the only browser I use. It does everything I need it to and I've never had a glitch.
 

napalmnthemorning

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Messages
721
#13
I used FastBrowser until I switched over to Opera recently. I still use Fastbrowser. love that tabbed browsing. Real simple and it blocks the popups. It also has a plugin where you can click on a animated character that can read information in various voices and speeds.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political User
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
2,465
#14
just switched to Slimbrowser from avant and myIE2 and I love it...like it a lot better than the others...try it out I think it's worth it
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
766
#16
Is there any way you can get Internet Explorer to open a link on a page whilst its loading. My one seems intent on not allowing me to click on or open links in new windows until its finished loading the page.

as you can see im impatient - SO I WANT AN ANSWER QUICK - got it.... :D
 

theevilsithlord

Hail to the King, Baby!
Joined
May 18, 2002
Messages
131
#20
When i use IE and hit back, it goes back to exactly what i was doing on the previous page... however using Avant, it refreshes the previous page before going back to it.... How can i get Avant to act like IE in this respect?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,035
Messages
673,561
Members
89,038
Latest member
hzr414ac