installing xp with a upgr. cd without installing an earlier version

G

gustav64

Hi guys!

As you can see, i'm a newbie.

You can allmost see my question in the subject. Is it possible to install xp with the upgrade version, without installing for instance ME first.

Have to say; this is one of the best forums I've ever seen.:D

welcome! no you can only install the upgrade over a previous version of windows as the full version has all the files it needs where and upgrade uses files from the previous operating system as well as updating or adding new files:)

Not true. You absolutely can do a clean install with an upgrade disk. The upgrade version contains everything that is on the non-upgrade ("full") version.

Just go ahead and boot to the cd and do the install. At some point you'll be asked to insert the original disk from a prior OS just to prove you have it. That's it.

Gustav64: as far as I know you don't actually have to have the other os installed you just need the installation cd to prove you have the other version and are not just try to get XP on the cheap. The upgrade cd searches for other versions of Windows and if It cannot find one it asks for the cd. I'm not certain about this, but I did an upgrade and I'm pretty sure this is what is said on the instructions.

Yes..it is that way. I have an upgrade version of WinXp HE as I have a full version of Win98.

Just boot up with WinXp CD..and when it asks for proof of a full version of an earier OS you put in that CD (Win98, WinME or Win2000), it checks..clears it..and then you put back the WinXp CD.

If you have an earlier version of Windows it is no point in buying a new full version. Expensive!! And you will get the same stuff anyway...

Allan - I don't have the "XP cd"(or any other prior Windows cd neither) thanks to HP and their hidden partition - however I will still be able to use an upgrade version on my next Windows blah blah blah since I have XP currently installed - Yes?