installing OS in a SCSI hard drive

max

OSNN Junior Addict
hi guys, i'm kinda new to this formatting stuf...the prob is this...i need to format a SCSI hard drive...when i'm doing the normal formatting, it asks whether i need to install a support driver for RAID which is a RAID controller..so i got it from the motherboard disc. FYI:i'm using ASUS motherboard...

the main problem comes when it says it cannot detect the drives!!!

i did notice that when my pc was working properly it was not showing the drives in the Bios...

i'm blank here...please help me...

So you have a scsi port on your motherboard or are you using a PCI card? If it's a PCI card what is it. I remember formating a SCSI hard drive and had a similar situation with the PCI card, I just eneded up using the port on the motherboard. Check your PCI card web site manufacture for up to date bios/manuls/drivers etc. Ah you say it does not display in bios, I think you have a PCI Card. It wouldn't show them in the mobo bios if it's on a card.

info

i just got to know that the connection is a SATA connection...it does not use any other card...the SATA connection is from the Mobo directly to the hard disc.

when i go to the BIOS it does not show the frive but it boots up normally...i'm still stuck on how to format it.

SATA and not SCSI? Veery big difference. ;)

The SATA controller might be on its own and not part of the bios. Sometimes it needs to be activated in bios.

You say it boots up normally? Boots from the disk or what? If it does it would be very strange, but then again not a problem since you can just format it with the xp cd or so.

it boots up normally..meaning starting the window 2000....not starting from cd or floppy..

ok...let me explain abit...i wanted to format this pc..it is using ASUS mothereboard P4P800...it had 2* 80 gig..and its not using IDE cable but SATA cable.