I think i fried my IDE cable

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#1
Is it possiable to fry an IDE cable, cuz mine was workin till i tried adding a hard drive to it (the ocmputer was off) and then when it tried to boot, it freake dout. Now i cant see my dvd burner or cd burner....any ideas?
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
#2
I would check jumper settings, make sure they are set to either Cable Select, or Master/Slave accordingly.
 

Aprox

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
2,738
#3
Exactly, check your jumpers and read the diagrams on the drives carefully. You will probably have to remove them to read them.

To anwser your question though; yes, it is possible for an IDE cable to go out on you. Not likely out of the blue, or at all. But it is possible for an old cable to have one of the strands or more break, especially if you have bent it back and forth a lot.
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Messages
4,199
#5
And the cd you took off was set to what ? Master or Slave? I would set the hard drive to match the settings of the cd rom you took off .
 

American Zombie

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,952
#6
Wanted to add if you have a DVD or CD drive on that cable with the hard drive then the hard drive is going to slow down to whatever the transfer rate the DVD/CD drive is rated at. Normally DVD/CD drives are UDMA/ATA 2 or 4.
 

ElementalDragon

The One and Only
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Messages
3,159
#7
^^^ what he said. Hard drives and optical drives being on the same IDE cable is basically one HUGE taboo.

failurbydesign: you don't know what jumpers are? ..... 21 must be the new "old" now... lol, j/k. it's the little plastic square on the back of the drive with a small bit of metal going across which is used to connect two pins on the back of the drive. when you look at the back of the drives, there will be the plug for power, the IDE cable, and then there should be a set of..... i think like 6 or 7 pins, with said little jumper. on the label of the drive it will show a diagram for where the jumper should be for whatever position you want it to be on (Master = primary drive/boot drive, Slave = secondary drive, Cable Select = determined by where the drive is on the cable). i usually set them to master or slave.... not a fan of trusting Cable Select.
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#8
peersonally - I say cable select is cool - so long as you know how you have routed your cable... I used to set jumpers to over rule cable, but have found CS reliable and useful - so that is all I use now.
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#9
Also most of the time if two devices on a cable have the same assignment (both master) then nothing will be detected. Which may be your problem. I would also follow what American Zombie said, don't put a HDD and optical drive on the same cable, unless you have no other choice.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#10
Make sure you put the connector on right. The are supposed to have a square plastic key sticking up in the middle so it can only go in one way but I have seen some with out the square key.

Jumpers 101 with pictures:
http://www.wdc.com/en/library/eide/2579-001037.pdf#search="hd jumpers"

Most likely it is your jumper settings. Drives's usually ship set up to be the only drive on the cable, you have to move the jumper.

If the cable is a ribbon cable it is easy to damage them if you pull them off by the ribbon wires instead of by the connector. If that happens it is toast.
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#11
Ok...all the jumpers are ok, i didnt change them, like i said i unplugged the cd drive and connected a hard drive (which i come to find out is bad as in doesnt work at all...the i connecte dthe drive back up..turned the pcon, didnt boot past the first screen, make a sound and shut off...now i cant see the drives...maybe a bad cable?
 

Aprox

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
2,738
#12
Have you tried removing the HD from the system and try booting up?

Like I had mentioned earlier its VERY unlikely that a cable would just go out on you all of a sudden for no good reason. Perhaps if you were in the case a lot digging around and bending the cables around looking and stuff and just being rough with it... maybe. However its still very unlikely its the culprit, try removing the HD from the system if you haven't already and see if that helps.
 

Aprox

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
2,738
#14
Well if you think its a bad cable, have you tried just using another one?
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#16
oki got one and replaced it, not workin....at all, the power onl;y works to one drive now, not my dvd burner..im gettin freaked out...
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#17
Ok, long list of things it could be starting with:

The rectanglualr 4 pin white connectors are crap
-You can push back a pin when inserting them and it won't make contact.
--Put the connector on then check the back to make sure all the sires are all the way in.
-You can insert them upside down and fry the drive.
-- two corners are chamfered off they should go in so they match up with the chamfered corners in the socket.

The ribbon cables.
-They can be put in upside down also. This will not fry the drive fortunately.
--Check that pin 1 on the ide socket matches up with the red striped wire on the ide cable AT BOTH ENDS.
-Make sure you did not pull the ide cable partially out of the MB when chaning drives.

Back to jumpers. You can not use a new drive out of the box in an existing system. You must set the jumpers on all drives correctly or they will not work. Many times even a single drive in a system will not work if it's jumper is wrong. Check them. Use the link above.
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,820
#18
ok i got the dvdrw working, but i cant get the cdrom drive to work at all...i took the drive sout, checked them, i chnaged the jumpers from cable select and made one master and one slave. I made the cd drive master, but like i said it doesnt show up.....
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,028
Messages
673,529
Members
89,038
Latest member
Samhicks