I can't access "My Document"

Sinster

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
Messages
520
#1
My Pictures etc... they show up but can't access. Are they there because of some programs will require them? Also I did a lot of backups of my reg so I can merge them into vista. Now that there isn't a My Document I'm assuming this will cause some problems.
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
#2
Did you check folder/file permissions and who has ownership of the folders/files?
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
#4
That doesn't mean anything. You could be the administrator and not have access to folders/files, such as "System Volume Information". Did you CHECK the permissions and ownership of the folder you cannot access?
 

Sinster

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
Messages
520
#5
That doesn't mean anything. You could be the administrator and not have access to folders/files, such as "System Volume Information". Did you CHECK the permissions and ownership of the folder you cannot access?
Yes I did.. .
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#6
can you copy and paste these files? If so copy and paste them to a fat32 partition then move them back to ntfs. See if you then have permission to them.
 

Sinster

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
Messages
520
#7
can you copy and paste these files? If so copy and paste them to a fat32 partition then move them back to ntfs. See if you then have permission to them.

When I copy and paste my backup copy to lets say "My Pictures" to "My Pictures" in Vista.. VIsta places them in a folder "Pictures", not "My Pictures" but "Pictures" even though "My Pictures" is listed under "Documents".
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,082
#8
Did you do an upgrade from XP? Or setup a dual boot with an existing XP install?

this is By Design

These are junction points to maintain compatibility with older and/or poorly written programs that reference hardcoded locations. By default, they have no read access on the junction points themselves but they do point back to the new locations in vista.
 
Last edited:

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#9
When I copy and paste my backup copy to lets say "My Pictures" to "My Pictures" in Vista.. VIsta places them in a folder "Pictures", not "My Pictures" but "Pictures" even though "My Pictures" is listed under "Documents".
the reason i say copy and paste them to fat32 is that the files will lose their permissions as fat32 does not support the security that ntfs partitions do. Do you have a spare harddrive, or even a usb drive you can format to fat32?
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,082
#10
the reason i say copy and paste them to fat32 is that the files will lose their permissions as fat32 does not support the security that ntfs partitions do. Do you have a spare harddrive, or even a usb drive you can format to fat32?
Copy what files? he's trying to access the folders.. in this case, the "My Documents/My Pictures/etc" folders are not really folders (and not really shortcuts). They are Junctions which are similar to hard links in the UNix world. They are "pointers" in a sense to the new location that Vista stores files at. Copy a file to the "My Documents" folder in Vista and it really copies it out to the phyiscal location --> c:\users\<username>\Documents folder (note the absence of the "My" prefix)

You can't "Copy" the junction point since doing so would just copy the whole "documents" folder over the fat32 partitions and you would then lose permissions on all your files in that folder.

This is not a permissions issue since the junction points are by default set to deny read access. Please follow the link to the MS Support article I linked to in my post.

edit: You can also view this article for more info on Junctions and things to keep in mind for Junctions.
 
Last edited:

Sinster

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
Messages
520
#11
Did you do an upgrade from XP? Or setup a dual boot with an existing XP install?

this is By Design

These are junction points to maintain compatibility with older and/or poorly written programs that reference hardcoded locations. By default, they have no read access on the junction points themselves but they do point back to the new locations in vista.
No upgrade or dual boot. A fresh install of Vista.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,010
Messages
673,477
Members
89,038
Latest member
elizabethkramer