How to install folding@home in linux (ubuntu)

lancer

There is no answer!
Political Access
So i have 5 machines running, one is spare so i put ubuntu on it and want to run folding, when i am not using it, which is really never, its just for fun....

... but i'm not sure how to install folding@home on it, i'm a linux noob to say the least.

i wonder if its possible that someone on these boards are able to respond to any of my questions... on any of my threads, of that most have gone totally unanswered, one might get a paranoid feeling from that :)

yeah i saw that, but it just doesn't seem to want to run the program and yes apt get is a componant of ubuntu, can i just apt get the folding program instead?

well I am on the thread but not at my home base (actually using an iMac here :p) When I get back later I'll try to get around to booting a box to Ubuntu, been meaning to grab some updates there and stuff anyway, then I will attach a useful script or two that helps... but the actual running of folding is pretty much a piece of cake... I'm almost certain that even as a Linux n00b you can donwload the client, mark it for executable, and start it up in a console which is all there is to it to get folding (apart from the usual team number, user etc stuff).

Oh yeah, make sure to grab the Linux flavour of course :p seriously you should have no problems - although if you want to make it like the XP service version you have to do the config/scripting yourself of course :)

MFG how do i make is executable, i really am new, probably only used it for a total of ten hours.

as soon as I can persuade Lord to remote to our server and sort my domain join I'll get back to you on this thread.... (I was going to use the frigging server to copy over and attach the funky scripts for folding enhancement ubuntu-wise!)

Meanwhile since I am so busy you should find these guys most useful (they called me a "butnut" user on ICQ, but I forgave them ;) )